We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chief Motel to your Saves list
Chief Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   120 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Our stay was very nice. Rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The $1.99 breakfast deal is super and the food was great. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Outside appearance
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
87
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BONNIE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We found Chief Motel from Trip Advisor while searching for a place to stay while visiting the Black Hills. The reviews were great so we contacted the motel directly. The special deals which included the Custer State Park pass, $1.99 breakfast plus the free nights made it an offer we couldn't refuse. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and the motel clean and in good repair. The beds are so comfortable!!! We stayed our last night in Rapid City ,to catch a very early plane, at a La Quinta and Chief Motels beds were much better.
We felt at home and Custer is a great place to center all activities around while visiting the Black Hills. We ate 11 breakfasts at the Wrangler using the $1.99 coupon we bought from the Chief Motel, the food, service and overall experience was great. If you are traveling to Custer check out this great Mom and Pop motel for a down home stay!!!! Muir Family, Augusta, Georgia

  • Liked — Location, great value, clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

What a wonderful and charming motel. I typically do not book a motel for our travels and was a little apprehensive. I read travel site reviews and could find nothing negative written about this place. After corresponding via email/phone with Bruce, the owner, during the planning stages of our trip, I was very impressed and convinced that this place is special. Based on that, I made reservations for my husband, 3 adult children, my parents, and me to stay one night. We were not disappointed. Bruce was very concerned in seeing that all of our needs were met. Our rooms were extremely clean (including the carpet) and the bedding was comfortable and homey. We have stayed at 5 Star establishments and although the Chief Motel may not compare in many ways to them, it certainly makes up for it if you are looking for a nice place to stay and have the bonus of meeting a very accommodating and nice owner.

  • Liked — Clean and accommodating owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Very Clean! Loved that you could get three beds in one room. We traveled with our 16 year old son and 10 year old daughter. And the rates were very reasonable. Our room was cleaned and freshened up every day (we did leave a tip every morning). Air conditioning worked great, and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely recommend the Chief Motel.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * $1.99 restaurant breakfast: 2 eggs, hashbrowns, 2 slices toast or 2 pancakes, and choice of bacon, ham, or sausage * $1.99 Homemade Pie (saves 50%)* Stay 3 nights and receive free use of Custer State Park pass * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chief Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.