We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn
855 N Fifth Street, PO Box 152, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Great Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent three nights here while seeing the sights in the area. Very nice spot. Our room was on the second floor in a building behind the main row of rooms. Very pleasant. Huge bathroom. The room did have the jacuzzi tub with the open space between the sleeping area. We never requested this & it wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was the typical chain variety with the addition of cut-up fresh fruit- a nice treat. Pleasant lobby/eating area to enjoy one's breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Will have to visit again. The on-site restaurant will be reopening in 2015 - an added bonus to your stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N. Canton, Ohhio USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We arrived at the Bavarian Inn at the end of the tourist season early October, 2014 and as we drove in, a site of splendor greeted our weary set of 5 traveler's. It was a bit chilly, yet flower's in full bloom dripped from their flower boxes drawing you into a relaxing mood. The new Inn Keeper's were always happy to help us in any way. If it were not for their advise, we would not have been able to see so many sites (some twice in one day), or shopped in a quaint town that was suggested to us as we only had approx. 48 hrs to spare and see the sites. Their breakfast was yet another treat as we dined with traveler's from across the oceon's, Our host never missed a beat attending to everyone's needs. The room's were very clean and I will never forget my 3 day, 2 night stay at the Bavaarian Inn in Custer S.D. Barb Goettel

Room Tip: I don't think they have anything but good room's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the well written and very sweet review of the Bavarian Inn in Custer, SD. It was our pleasure sharing our little piece of the beautiful Black Hills with you. We have loved every minute of our first season as the owners and we are very excited about the improvements we are making for next season. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We only spent one night here but we enjoyed it very much. Very friendly front desk and a quick check in with lots of suggestions on what to see in the area. Our stay was during the week at the end of the season so the Inn and the town were very quiet. We can see though that this could be a very popular place in season and seems like it would be great for families with children. There is a lot for kids to do on the property. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub and saw the deer. There is a short fitness track and a swing set and an outdoor pool.
The room was fine, clean, and the bed comfortable. We felt it provided everything we needed for a really enjoyable, comfortable stay and was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We love your review and we are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed all that the Bavarian Inn has to offer. The fitness trail is a nice surprise for many of our guests. Often times it feels like your own little wildlife loop as it is home to many birds, squirrels, turkeys and deer. I hope you join us again for an extended stay during the summer months. Thank you so much for your business and your great review. We appreciate you.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We needed a place close to Crazy Horse to spend the night and this is the first place we saw, when we walk into the office , we fell in love with the way they decorated the reception, friendly receptionist and love the room we were given, with cute little patio and all, and the free bkfst is the best we've had on that 16 states trip.Met the owner too, very friendly, felt like family.this is home away from home.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review of the Bavarian Inn in Custer, SD. I am so happy you chose to stop at the Bavarian Inn. We loved serving you and hope you return for another European Style Experience in the Beautiful Black Hills. We wish you the best.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

During a week(ish) long vacation I chose Bavarian Inn to be our base for 2 nights. I trusted the reviews on tripadvisor to help make the choice.
The room had updated linens, but the other decor wasn't updated. My boys enjoyed the swingset outside and even got to see deer nearby. We took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub. It was too chilly to use the outdoor pool. The pool doesn't really have shallow entrance, more like boom, you're in.
The breakfast area looked recently updated and was very crisp looking. It got pretty busy both morning we were there. The food was ok, kids mainly ate waffles and donuts.
The front desk staff was very helpful and even gave us helpful tips on when to do which attractions. I think because of that suggestion we were able to see buffalo in Custer State Park right away the first day!
It was a decent place to stay, but just a tad too steep for a midweek stay at the end of tourist season. Having said that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We are a retired couple who stayed at this inn due to reviews on Trip Advisor. We asked for a quiet room on the top floor and that's what we got. Very charming, well furnished room with a bistro table and chairs on the balcony outside our room overlooking the tennis courts. Staff at check in were very friendly; property was well kept and well landscaped. Cookies at check in were a nice touch. Breakfast is available at 7:00, which we thought was a little late because people are advised to get out on the wildlife loop in Custer State Park early for the best chance at seeing the wildlife. Breakfast was fine - we appreciated the fruit, yogurt, and especially the granola. The breakfast room was nicely furnished. We would definitely stay here again and wish the new young owners the best of luck.

Room Tip: Top floor room was quiet, but it didn't appear that there was an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review of the Bavarian Inn. I am so happy to hear we met your expectations. We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My friend and I, along with our children, stayed at the Bavarian Inn in September. It was my first visit to the area and we chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor Reviews. We were not disappointed! The kids were over the moon for the milk and cookies at check-in, especially after a 600 mile drive! Our room was clean and comfortable. We loved the pool and hot tub, and even brought some games back to our room from the game room. Love the tennis court! The location was perfect as we were visiting the area to go to the Buffalo Round Up in Custer State Park and visit Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore. Everything we wanted to see and do was within 30 miles. The breakfast was amazing. The granola was my favorite! The staff was accommodating, kind, and so cheerful! We loved every second, and plan on returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We loved your review of the Bavarian Inn in Custer, SD. Hearing that you had a fantastic Black Hills adventure is the highlight of our day. As new owners, this is our goal for every guest, every day. I am so glad you enjoyed the milk & cookies and everything else we have to offer. We hope to see you again. Your kind review is very much appreciated. Thank you for your business.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Address: 855 N Fifth Street, PO Box 152, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque mountain resort setting, the Bavarian Inn offers 64, deluxe rooms, suites, and jacuzzi rooms. Amenities include flat screen televisions with HD programming, free high speed wi-fi, indoor/outdoor heated pools, hot tub, sauna, tennis court, playground, fitness trail, on-premise laundry and a wonderful restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Inn Motel & Restaurant Hotel Custer
Bavarian Inn Motel And Restaurant
Bavarian Hotel Custer
Bavarian Motel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.