We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, spacious property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 W Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Custer
St. Paul
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views, spacious property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here July 3rd and 4th for out trip to Mt. Rushmore which is about 25 minutes away. The property was very well kept and there was lots of room to have a picnic outside. The pool was perfect and they had a basketball hoop for my kids. Breakfast was beyond excellent with everything made fresh. The front desk staff was very friendly and the maid service was great as well. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerABVI, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
We really appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    14
    15
    10
See reviews for
51
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place has a lot of problems. I paid $120 per night. Here is a list:
1. The door doesn't open all the way, the "closet" (actually a coat rack) blocks it;
2. The dead bolt lock is broken;
3. Air conditioner could wake the dead;
4. Refrig is broken.
5. Front desk just shrugs and says "Its an old hotel".
Stay across the street, its no better but at least its half the price.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were passing through Custer on our vacation when our transmission went out. We got a rental but could not tow our vehicle. Manager allowed us to leave boat for the week so we could continue vacation. Very helpful staff, good hot breakfast, and clean rooms. Very good value right next to Flintstones. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Dakota Cowboy for 4 nights in June. The young man that runs the Inn was fantastic. He was very helpful regarding things to do/see and went out of his way to make us feel at home! The breakfasts were wonderful. Inexpensive place to stay - although an older property, it was clean and cozy. This young man is doing everything in his power to make this Inn successful - it may take some time but we're behind him all the way! Most people only write a review when they have bad things to say - it would be nice if all people that were happy with their stay would write one because then I think you would get a better idea of the truth. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerABVI, General Manager at Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
It always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Its important for our staff to be knowledgeable on the area so we can provide all of guests with detailed information. The breakfast we serve is very important and I am glad that you enjoyed it. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Dakota Cowboy for 4 nights in the beginning of June. Our room was very clean, and ready when we came in every night. The breakfast was some of the best that we have had, fresh biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, Belgian waffles, cereal and toast. Name brand peanut butter and jam and they even had whipped cream for the waffles. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. We asked for extra pillows on our first night and they were brought to us within minutes. I would definitely recommended this place for our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerABVI, General Manager at Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The feedback is always appreciated and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We arrived as walk ins 6-9-14, after viewing tripadvisor and finding the rating acceptable. A room was not ready, so we went on to sight-see. Shan was very accommodating and willing to assist us in traveling the area. I really would like the manager, Shan, to succeed, however he will need good help to do so. It appears that the hotel is under new management and some things have been updated, such as new mini-fridges, new AC, and new showerheads. Some painting has been done. Unfortunately, the room was dirty. I will not elaborate, but if the night staff would have been able to give us a refund, we would not have stayed. An issue arose and the only choice we were given was to wait until another room was cleaned by the only person on staff , or forfeit the expense of the 80.00$ hotel room at 8:00pm at night, and find another place to stay. It was not the problem, but the way in which it was handled. We did NOT stay an extra night.

Room Tip: Ask to view a cleaned room prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerABVI, General Manager at Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We work hard to provide excellent hospitality and we did not deliver. We have increased the number of staff members on duty so we can provide prompt and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Housekeeping was cleaning the room as we entered. The sink didn't drain and we found purple lace from ladies' underwear on our bed sheet. There was hair on the bathroom floor. We definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerABVI, General Manager at Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Your room should have been cleaned on time and there is no excuse for this, I have met with my housekeeping staff and gone over proper cleaning procedure once again to make sure everything is clear and we are more efficient and thorough when cleaning rooms. My maintenance team went through all of the guest rooms to ensure that everything is draining properly. I appreciate the feedback you gave us so we can be sure these types of issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn

Address: 208 W Mt Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Hotel Custer
Americas Best Value Inns Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.