We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good find in Custer - authentic Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Mexican

Maria's Mexican
25022 N. Hwy 385/16, Custer, SD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Restaurant is a food trailer located near Custer, South Dakota
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant is a food trailer located near Custer, South Dakota
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good find in Custer - authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We swung by on our way through town, and were pleasantly surprised. The food was good and freshly made and quick. It was tasty and very similar to the food in Colorado. It was a bit pricey, but we appreciate the fact that it isn't a chain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Taco truck, but 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from Maria's. Blinked, missed it, had to drive back.

Wife and I both ordered a simple pork burrito (with drinks). The food was superb. Custer isn't known for Mexican food -- this was a real treat. Yeah, It's served out of a truck and if you want to sit down, they have picnic tables under an awning out back.

Plastic forks and food served wrapped in foil. If you can get over the lack of "ambiance," it's well worth the trip. Our bill came to $19.99 for the burritos and two soft drinks (20 oz in the original plastic bottles).

This may not be your "cup of tea" but we'll be back. We hope Maria's is in Custer to stay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the Black Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Maybe even the upper USA too.
Had the tamalas, soft corn tacos and quesadilla. All homemade at time of order and very authentic tasting.
The owner was very friendly as well as her young daughter.
Be sure to eat here if you want authentic Mexican. Easy on the wallet too. Family of 5 ate for $25.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Taco truck at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed high quality breakfast and dinner from Maria's truck in downtown Custer. Authentic, fresh burrito and tamales with dining on covered picnic tables behind the truck. This place was just a great find -- a favorite during our visit to the Dakotas. Super choice to dine with our dog or take home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good roadside stand for Mexican.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Burritos were good. Tamales were good ...unless u don't like the texture of steamed corn. A few folks in our party have never had a tamale and did not like it. Fajitas was a small portion as was kids menu quesadilla.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Mexican also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.