We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV park near Custer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pine Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Save
You added Big Pine Campground to your Saves list
12084 Big Pine Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great RV park near Custer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We made a one night stop here and chose this RV park from reviews. Reviews accurate. Big sites, clean hot showers, and very attentive friendly owners. Just outside of Custer and about 25 minutes to Mount Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Borger, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at Big Pine and will not be our last. Ron and Angie know what customer service really means. They are both very friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make you feel right at home. Many, many things to do close by but you still get the quietness of the big pines and enjoying the laid back feeling of camping. This park is pet friendly as well.

Thanks Angie and Ron!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Big Pine was the best experience of our 3 week RV trip. Stayed 3 nights and loved every minute. Ron & Angie have a true understanding of customer service, hospitality and what it takes to have a fantastic campground. They are extremely friendly and helpful. Along with that the campground is impeccably clean and well maintained. Each site has plenty of space in the middle of the pine trees.
The location is just perfect to enjoy the Black Hills, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. 7 miles from Crazy Horse and 20 miles from Mt. Rushmore, they can both be seen in a day trip through Custer State Park. And just 2 miles from the town of Custer you can easily go shopping or dining.
Ron works daily to keep things gorgeous and Angie will make you feel right at home. They both make you feel like you have found new friends. We will definitely be back and will recommend this park to everyone we know going through this area.
Thanks Ron & Angie for the best campground on our trip!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It took us forever to figure out where to stay in South Dakota for our trip last year. The owners were so great; they cater to their campers. The campground has alot of big pines and even though it seems wide open; at the same time you still seemed spaced out from the other campers. If we could of stayed longer we would of. One of the things I was most surprised about was how clean the bathrooms were. If you are going camping in South Dakota would recommend this campground on your list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 days here - it was our 1st trip to SD & our 1st multi-state in our RV. This place is so easy to find & the owners couldn't be nicer or more helpful !! We loved it so much we're planning to come back w our family for another visit as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Ron and
Angie, were super friendly, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed there for a week in August and the bathrooms were impeccably clean the whole time.
Close to lots of awesome sites and attractions. Treed, spacious lots for a campground.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We do a lot of tent camping in our family and we're always looking for good places. We stayed here for five nights at the end of July and I would agree with everything the other reviewers say. This is a very well managed place. The tent sites are enough separated from the campers and are in the woods. Some of them are pretty far from the bathrooms (which are kept pretty clean, though it was really, really busy in July.) The only thing I would say is that the 3 sites closest to the bathroom which I think are 79, 80 and 81 are big sites but the dividing lines between them is not real clear especially towards the back of the site. You have to walk down a little hill to the bathroom but this is all part of the experience for me. Did not bother me. Enjoyed being remote. Good location. Custer is a hopping little touristy town. We wanted to stay in Custer State Park but it was full. Glad we found this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Address: 12084 Big Pine Road, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pine Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.