We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Restaurant - CLOSED

Bavarian Restaurant
907 N.5th St., Custer, SD 57730
+1 605-673-4412
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: American, German, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Full Service Restaurant featuring German\American CuisineFeaturing 3 Dining Rooms with a Full Service Bar , Outdoor Dining Deck and Banquet room for 200 guests.
Denver, Co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Service was terrible. Food was good but way overpriced. Our server might have been new, she did not know the menu and overcharged us by about $10. We would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
So worth the trip . Bavarian Restaurant serves the highest quality food in the area . We are also the lowest in menu price in Custer . As far as being over charge . You didn't bring it to anyone attention. When we could have change your ticket . And solved your problem . We hope you will return . It's so human to make mistakes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oriskany, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Sauerbraten, red cabbage and potatoes were excellent, and oh yea so was the German beer and desert. We were there in late September so it was not crowded and service was outstanding. My brother also enjoyed the food which was amazing. I thought the price was reasonable and the quality of the food outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review . Hope you get a chance to come visit our restaurant soon .Rosemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sceptre
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You have to try this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended be a fellow Canadian who told us how good it was. She was right. It was excellent right from the service to the actual food. My wife and I each had a different German dish and they were both very good-tasty and lots of food. We shared desert and glad that we did as the portion was huge-Belgium chocolate strudel-best we have ever eaten. If in Custer, this restaurant is a must to go to. You definitely won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
So happy you enjoyed our restaurant . Please come back and try our new strudels . Rosemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Bavarian Restaurant is an inviting place with a comfortable, warm environment, good food, good service and fair prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bavarian Inn for two nights, and ate breakfast and dinner there both days. The food quality, service and prices were excellent. I'd be happy to return again any time!

Paul H.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you . We hope you get to visit the black hills soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wish we had chosen somewhere else to eat!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After driving for several hours, it is far too easy to take the least line of resistance and eat locally. By eating locally, I mean eating at the restaurant 'attached' to the motel.

I really wish we had gone elsewhere. The food wasn't great - just average and didn't represent value for money - if anything being over-priced and the menu was limited.

Service wasn't that great either!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavarian_custer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your dinning experience. We wish you would have been more specific about what you didn't like so we could improve. We welcome constructive criticism, but we are not sure what made you so unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.