We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Aerial Adventures

Black Hills Aerial Adventures
24564 US Hwy 16/385, Custer, SD 57730
605.673.2163.
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 things to do in Custer
Attraction details
Chapel Hill
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our splurge on our recent trip to the Black Hills and it was well worth it. We took our flight out of the Keystone heliport, which couldn't have been any more convenient. We took the ultimate 30 minute flight and saw gold mines, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Needles, the Cathedral Spires, Sylvan Lake and Mt. Harney.

We later went to Crazy Horse on the ground tour and I can tell you the view from the air is far better. You see Crazy Horse from the side only on the ground, and from a distance unless you spend extra money to get a little closer. In the helicopter you are at eye level and see his full face, which is much more impressive. The sculpture is huge and very well done.

Our pilot was Shane and he was a wealth of knowledge while he flew us around the circuit. He was a lot of fun and obviously enjoys his job. Unlike many helicopter tours we have been on, this one was nice and smooth and no sharp turns. No worry of getting air sick on this flight. Shane made the whole thing a lot more enjoyable, we would gladly fly with him again.

Sure, the flight is expensive, but it gives you a perspective that you just cannot get on the ground. They offer a variety of flights to choose from, so cost should not keep you from trying this out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, ND USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Keystone - Short but unique view of Mt. Rushmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We flew from Keystone around Mt. Rushmore. This was one of those "few in a lifetime" experiences for us. It was spendy ($89 each in 2012) for the 8 minute ride. There have been a few things we were interested in seeing from a helicopter, but Mt. Rushmore is among the most unique. The pilot was expert and knowledgeable about the sites we saw from the chopper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“worth it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Yes it is pricey, but worth it. Neither my wife or I had ever flown in a helicopter so we were a little apprehensive but our pilot Matt was great. Got some great pictures and the views will be in our memories for ever. Glad we did it. 1st class operation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great views but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a good time and the views were very good for the most part. A bit disappointed in the monument views as we were VERY far back away from them. You go around them only once and so fast that if you miss your picture your stuck. We did tour #6 which was their most inclusive but if had to do again would have done the $89 tour (since we still went to Mt Rushmore and such). Lots of dead fall in the area due to the bettle issue the state has been dealing with for the last decade (really bad last 4 years from what local rangers told us).

We definately enjoyed the ride since none of us had ever been in a helicopter. But again, wish we would have saved some money (oh well - can't take it with ya!).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must do this if you have the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The views from the helicopter are unparalleled. If you have the means, this is a must-do when visiting Mt Rushmore and the surrounding area. Be sure and take a camera!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills Aerial Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills Aerial Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Aerial Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.