We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Bell Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Bell Lodge
Custer State Park, 25453 Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at the Blue Bell Lodge. The cabin we stayed in had two double beds and a bunk bed. It was new and clean. In the morning, there were two buffalo outside our cabin. The only downside to this lodge is that it is a bit pricey. It's worth it for a couple of nights but might not be worth it for more than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review of The Blue Bell Lodge. I am pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed your cabin. The Buffalo are my favorite and I just love it when there down by the cabins. If you come early or late in the season we do give disocounts for multiple night stays. These discounts are typically in late April to mid May and then pick back up again in September. Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
77
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

two nights at the cabin was not long enough! cabins have rabbits and chipmunks all around that were fun to watch. Lodge restaurant is good. State game lodge is superb. About a 15 minute drive. Buffalo were all around the lodge.
Cabin was nice. We stayed in cabin 22, and it was updated. Some did not look as up to date.

Room Tip: cabin 22 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, some of the cabins are older. They were built in 1933 by the CCC when they were building the park. They have all had renovations and feature somewhat the same set up as the new cabins without the fireplaces. However, they are a little more rustic than the sleeping cabins but a lot of people like myself enjoy that atmosphere as well. Maybe your next stay can be for longer so you can enjoy more of what we have to offer inside the park. Thanks again and take care from the staff at Blue Bell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Chuckwagon offered a cozy wagon ride through Custer Park before dinner in a off-road location. Wonderful entertainment provided by a one man cowboy show throughout ride and meal time. Our guide (who played the guitar, harmonica, and fiddle) was a great musician and story teller who made every effort to include the children, which made it a perfect family outing. Dinner was good; perfectly seasoned, grilled steaks and all the fixings. I highly reccommend the Chuckwagon!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review of the Chuckwagon. From your review I can tell you had Cowboy Keith on your wagon. He is a marvelous entertainer and all around good guy. He makes it fun for everyone. People are often surprised at how much they get and what a good value it is. I hope that you come back again someday and maybe we can connvince you to stay with us as well. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed in a Sleeping Cabin for 3 nights at the Blue Bell Lodge in Custer State Park. Cabins were clean, 2 comfortable full size beds, fireplace, table and chairs, small kitchenette with sink, small refrigerator, 4 burner stove, dishes, tub/shower, hairdryer. Be sure to ask for the newer cabins (the Sleeping Cabins) as some of the other cabins are older and I had read some poor reviews. Our cabin (#5) sat in pine grove close to the main lodge/restaurant. Had a nice porch with chairs (a bit uncomfortable but extra pillows in cabin helped ) Very nice spot to stay... close to the beginning of the Wildlife loop, and stables available. Wood is provided if you want a campfire (pit next to cabin) or for use in fireplace. Was peaceful and private. Totally enjoyed our stay. I think the cabins are a bit pricey ($215/night)... they are $100 more each night than the cabin we stayed in at Cedar Pass in the Badlands, and those cabins were nicer and immaculate.

Room Tip: be sure to get Sleep cabins... or new cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of Blue Bell. The sleeping cabins are much newer being built in 1992 vs the smaller cabins that were built in 1933 and you can't beat the fireplace inside the cabin. We hope that you will stay with us again here at Blue Bell Lodge and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a Sleeping Cabin. Very nicely furnished and the kitchen setup (stove, small fridge, microwave, dishes, coffee pot, utensils, glasses, pot & pan) let us cook some simple meals and keep from eating out each meal. My wife particularly liked the bath towels -- thick and fluffy in her words. The location was convenient to the area attractions -- Custer City, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc -- and of course the state park itself. The cabin was just a couple of minutes walk from the lodge restaurant and general store. The only downside was some cleaning issues. When we arrived, the burn pit outside our cabin was trashed with beer cans and plastic cups. I reported it but went ahead and cleaned it up myself. The other cleaning issue was in the cabin itself. We were there for a few days and with the occasional thunderstorms, dirt and sand got tracked in, especially in the kitchen area. This area was not swept during the time we were there. No Wi-Fi in the cabin -- and we knew that going in -- but it was available at the lodge. Not real fast but decent enough to check email.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves while you were here. I have put some additional checklists in place including "checking the fire pits" for my housekeepers in an effiort to not miss anything. We have recently upgraded our internet service and I am hopeful that there will be a noticable improvment. Your review was very helpful, I appreciate hearing the good and bad so we can continue to improve our service. Hope to see you again at Blue Bell in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was recently the matron of honor in my best friends wedding at the Blue Bell Lodge. All I can say is WOW, what an amazing place! Everything about Blue Bell is enchanting and charming. The staff was all accommodating and very, very friendly. It's located in a beautiful area--it is very clean and well kept. If you are thinking about planning a wedding around this area, THIS is the place to do it. The food was amazing and the White Buffalo room was a great place for the reception. It really has it all, beautiful views, great atmosphere and positive people. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay around Custer State Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much, you folks were a pleasure to have at Blue Bell. I am glad that your wedding was all that you hoped it would be. We strive to make everyone's experience a great one and you guy's made it easy with your laid back and fun attitude. Please come back and see us again, we would love to have you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Beach, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The cabins at the Blue Bell lodge can be summed up with three c's: charming, cozy and comfy. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. The one restaurant on the premises is good, not great. You cannot beat the location right in Custer State Park. Go on the Chuckwagon dinner, which is fun and folksy. Cowboy Keith is entertaining. One thing: the lodge claims it has wifi - though they made it clear that it is intermittent at best - but we had none. Phone service in the main building is decent but you'll likely not to have a decent signal in your cabin. A small price to pay for staying in such a nice spot.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Blue Bell. I am pleased to say that we have recently upgraded the internet system and I am hopeful that the wifi service will improve. While we understand that people need to stay connected, we encourage our guests to put down the computer and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of the park. The Chuckwagon is a great experience for families as well as couples and Cowboy Keith is a superb entertainer. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Address: Custer State Park, 25453 Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical lodge offering horseback riding and camping trips through Custer State park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.