We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legion Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Legion Lake Resort to your Saves list
Legion Lake Resort
12967 Us Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Reserving a year in advance has its perks! We got Cabin #1, right on the lake with a great view, but yet a bit away from the noise of the little beach. Family of four, the kids had the separate room and it was a bit of a squeeze with suitcases. Great to be able to do our own cooking in the kitchen--pots, pans, tableware provided. Good to have AC, lots of hot water. Location perfect for local sites, Hill City to the Prairie Berry Winery, the Needles Highway, Jewel Cave, wildlife loop. We spent one car-free day just at the park, walking, swimming and boating. Renting the boat for half day is much more affordable than by the hour! TJ at check-in very welcoming. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can't speak to that. We spent a lot of time sitting by the campfire and watching the sun set over the lake. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family of 5 reserved a sleeper cabin (two queen beds, full bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffee maker) since nothing larger was available. Two of us slept in our RV while the rest of us slept in the cabin, which worked out just fine. Our cabin was #20, which is at the end of the road, so we had beautiful, forested views on three sides, and were far away from the traffic on the road and to Legion Lake.

The resort is well maintained (for the most part, see below) and the mostly international staff are friendly and eager to learn about the hospitality business in the US. The lodge itself has a very nice deck overlooking the lake, with a sandy-bottom swimming beach and park-style playground a few steps away, and a moderately challenging hiking trail around the lake. We had dinner on the deck one night, and the food and service were fantastic (Tabu was our waitress) -- great pizza, nice chicken salad, yummy grilled cheese and chicken strips for the kids, plus beer, ice cream and a great view! The staff in the gift and coffee shop were very helpful, and were quick to get help if they didn't know how to ring up or prepare something (hot chocolate or iced coffee, for example). The housekeeping team was very patient as we lazily rolled out of bed for the day's adventures -- even though one day it was past 11am, they still did our cabin, not something you'll find everywhere!

The one curious thing was the private house in the middle of the resort -- it had a "Private Road" sign to keep resort guests off their driveway (which is different from a "Park Employees Only" sign). The house was very visible from the rest of the resort area, but its yard was not maintained at the same level as the rest of the resort, or even the dorms where the employees stayed, which were all neat and tidy. The private house residents have dogs who were not leashed (a Custer State Park requirement) and who ran towards, and rather fiercely barked at, my children and me as we walked along the resort's road. I am not sure who lives at this house, but a little bit of work to make it blend in with the rest of the resort would go a long way.

Overall, we had a great experience and loved our stay at Legion Lake Resort!

Room Tip: Housekeeping cabins 1 and 2 are the only ones with a view of Legion Lake -- the rest are a short wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha,NE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Legion Lake cabins were excellent, the cabin had plenty of room, clean and have good facilities to cook. Beds were good and the cabins are so quite with great A/C.

The cabins are close to the water, for those that want to be right next to the water, then this should not be your expectation. The fishing was great and the Trout was excellent.

All who are thinking about a great vacation should choose this area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Awesome little resort that is slightly secluded but close to what you see in Custer State Park. The resort has a small family feel and is nowhere like being rushed in nearby Keystone.

We had a sleeping cabin and it was better than we thought and felt like home. The cabin had a fridge, coffee pot, full bathroom and to out surprise...satellite tv on a small flat screen. We didn't expect any tv at all. Cabin also had excellent air conditioning system (and heat).

There are no phones in the sleeping cabins, but we were able to get Verizon data and phone coverage from the location.

I'll agree, the beds were a bit hard, but running around so much during the day, we were so tired that we overlooked it.

Out of all the Custer resorts, Legion Lake seemed to be the smallest and the most comfortable one. Oh, it's set on a beautiful lake as well.

Kudos to the GM for reading these comments!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked a 7 person housekeeping cabin 7 months in advance. I spent at least half an hour or more on the phone with the booking agent to find the right spot for our family vacation. We were considering all of the Custer State Park resorts, and the reservation agent felt Legion Lake resort would be best for us as a family of four who loves to fish and swim. I asked for a cabin as close to the lake as possible. I was told the cabin I booked was within steps of the lake. When we arrived, we were disappointed to find out that our cabin (no. 12) was nowhere near the lake, and was in fact, on a fairly busy road used by other guests to get to their cabins close to the lake and by employees of the resort to get to their accomodations. We asked for another cabin, but were told there were none available. When I described my conversation with the booking agent to the staff at LL, I was told that they can't promise a specific cabin when you make your reservation, except for instances where they have returning guests. So, unless you are a regular who stays there every year, you are low on the totem pole for getting the best cabins. Everyone was disappointed, but decided to try to make the best of it. The staff, particularly Teresa, worked very hard to make up for our disappointment, and we appreciated that very much.

Legion Lake is beautiful and in a perfect location in Custer State Park. The lodge itself is homey and comfortable and we enjoyed having meals there. The cabin had just a few issues, other than the location, that were minor annoyances: the satellite tv didn't work and it was a bit dirty, but those things didn't really bother us too much since we weren't there to sit in front of the tv anyway.

All in all, we are glad we stayed there, and ended up having a great time. We caught a trout in Legion Lake, brought it back to our cabin to cook on the campfire, but had to wait a little while to get the campfire going because there was a big buffalo hanging around in our yard! That was definitely one of the highlights of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

If you enjoy nature. If you want a central location in the best part of the Black Hills. If you have kids or young adults who need to be active. If you are tired of giant megacondo enclaves. If you want hot Starbucks in the middle of nowhere. If you need a cheezy buffalo shirt. This place has a beach where there are virtually no beaches. World class photography and nature viewing. An eclectic staff of locals, retirees, and worldwide college students, all smart and interesting. Kind of spendy, but worth every penny. The lodging here is mostly classic cabins; clean, basic. If you want modern, square, straight rooms this is not for you. This is all about nature. The resort is nestled in a singularly beautiful location beside a singularly beautiful lake. Don't forget your mountain bike for the nearby Mickelson trail.

Room Tip: The resort is not real forthcoming about cabin locations. Try to find an old adobe map of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
I appreciate your review of Legion Lake Lodge and am very happy to here that
you had a positive experience. It is our goal for each and every guest to have
a vacation of memories and Custer State Park adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Cabin was clean, with updated bathrooms, new heater and satellite based Internet... Yet still a rustic style with plenty of privacy and nature! Everyone there was welcoming and hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Customer Service is our priority here at Legion Lake Lodge. We appreciate each and
every review from our guests positive or negative so that we may improve our customer service. I am pleased to hear that my staff was able to help with your Custer State Park experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legion Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legion Lake Resort

Address: 12967 Us Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Custer State Park accommodation is located near Legion Lake and offers access to fishing and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Legion Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legion Lake Hotel Custer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legion Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.