We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and excellent service! .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added State Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
State Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Custer
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and excellent service! .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We will be back again to your beautiful lodge and cabins. We were a large group that enjoyed how you made us feel...like true guests! You just don't get that at rental cabins. The reunion cabin was amazing! Running stream, huge deck, three story rock fire place with a buffalo mount and a giant kitchen with plenty of space for family cooking.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and treat your group to the beauty of the reunion cabin. Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
76
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We started out in one of their small cabins right across from the Game Lodge, but when we had problems with the plumbing, they moved all twelve of us out of our hotel rooms and the cabin into the huge, gorgeous Reunion Cabin. Now that cabin is INCREDIBLE. What a great trip! The Reunion Cabin has 4 master suites on the main floor, all with their own bathrooms and a few with fireplaces and jet tubs. There was a gorgeous deck on the back overlooking the stream and the kitchen/dining area was incredible. There was even a loft with a couple sets of bunk beds and a big single bed for the younger kids. We also enjoyed the fire pit and it was fun to roast marshmallows :) Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This past December, by wife and some of my children and grandchildren spent six nights at the Game Keeper's Cabin in the State Game resort area of Custer State Park.

The cabin is older (build in the 30's) and some of the repairs/maintenance is a bit amateurish. nonetheless, it was a great place for us. The cabin has a washer and dryer. it has two baths (one shower only and one with tub/shower). There are five bedrooms. The cabin has a fireplace and one bundle of wood per day is included in the rent. (additional bundles are $4, but we were fine with one per day).

While we were there, we had a light snow and to our surprise, our steps and hand rails were shoveled as well as a path to our vehicle. The drive was also plowed.

Breakfast was included and served at the Creekside Lodge, just across the road.

The staff was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

The summer charge is pretty steep (about $540 per night), but it does sleep a dozen or so. In the winter, the rate was about half the summer rate.

There were no gift shops open or activities in the park in the winter. We did see a lot of wildlife, on the Wildlife Loop, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 1 night in a cabin, but froze, so they moved us into a historic room in the lodge. We were right at the top of the stairs either room 35 or 39- I can't remember the #. The rooms are smaller than the cabins, but very unique and beautiful. When we were there, they left all the available rooms open, so we looked into the open rooms. We even stole a peek into Coolidge's room. I think our room was nicer. Our room had a screen porch attached.
In defense of the Cabins; they are really nice. Our cabin was #33- a 2 bedroom cabin. I thought it was a 2 room cabin, not a 2 BEDroom cabin. It was a very cold October evening, snow and all. We are from Texas and had no idea how to turn on the heater. We found out the heater was along the floorboard. Never saw anything like that before, at least that I had to turn on myself. They offered to move us to the Historic building. Since we didn't need 2 bedrooms, we moved. Found out later that they gave us the room for the same amount as the cabin. The cabin was $155 per night and the beautiful room-------$350! Really glad we had trouble with that heater!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

One night in the Eisenhower room was plenty. Sound from the adjoining Coolidge room is like the people are in the same room. Staff granted our request to move to a hotel room so we wouldn't have to listen to the newlyweds in the Coolidge room celebrate their marriage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will likely return, but only to one of the newer and less costly hotel rooms. The original lodge has character, but for a relaxing stay, opt for the hotel rooms. Our dining experience was generally favorable except for one night when my wife's spinach salad had tomatoes substituted for the mandarin oranges and unduly long wait for breakfast the last morning we were there. The other 3 or 4 meals were very good with very good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in one of the motel rooms at the State Game Lodge. Our room was nicely appointed with a unique and beautiful pine beetle ceiling. I especially liked the bedspreads with a rustic theme. It would probably be a good idea for the staff to consider what the landscaping is probably doing to the efficiency of the room HVAC units. It looks nicer to hide them on the outside, but they're not intended to have bushes right next to the exhaust.
We had two dinners and one breakfast in the lovely dining rooms. The food and service were both fine. The bar was especially cozy, and the staff there was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We will not be back. Why? Although we loved the location and the staff was very friendly and accommodating to our requests and minor needs, the cabin and linens were simply old and not clean. The main lodge was nice but we didn't use it. The TVs in our room were modern flat screens that really contrasted with the old kitchen bathroom and bedroom and linens. All could be forgiven but it was just stale, old and dirty. Mouse poops in the kitchen cabinets, poor electrical lighting, and dirty white socks after walking for a few minutes on the carpets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Hotel
State Game Resort
Address: 13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your State Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.