We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added State Game Lodge to your Saves list
State Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Custer
at home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in the Bunkhouse at State Game Lodge because we booked late and none of the cabins were available, and we loved it! Four sets of bunk beds for my husband, two sons, and me. Space for everyone. Peaceful and quiet! This isn't the place for lively nightlife and entertainment. Rather, you can enjoy the beauty and majesty of Mt. Rushmore and the incredible wildlife all around. Excellent wait staff and office staff, polite, presentable. I would recommend the lodge to any one/family who enjoys nature and history.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center here, but hey, you can lake swim at Sylvan and hike in the park, so who ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    85
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
90
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Part of a tour of western parks (Insight Tours). An historic and rather old state park lodge within a huge and impressive park. Stayed 2 nights. The lodge and restaurant are fine. Staff are great. The cabins are small, especially the bathroom. There was hardly room for toiletries that we had to keep in the bedroom. The bathroom was clean, however, and everything worked and was relatively modern. Beds were OK. Refrigerator but no safe. TV was good as were channel selections. There was free WI FI in the lodge but not the rooms. Adequate outlets. There was decent 3G available on AT&T. All told, average and fairly comfortable if you don't spend too much time in the cabin and don't mind the tight accommodations. BTW, a herd of about 50 bison just outside our window the morning we left (see photo).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in The Eisenhower room- it was a great experience all around. The room was clean and comfortable, and the old lobby/front porch were very welcoming and relaxing. The food was excellent, and it seemed reasonably priced to us. Don't miss the breakfast buffet! The best aspect of the lodge was its proximity to the wildlife loop, where we enjoyed watching buffalo, antelope, donkeys, big- horned sheep, and prairie dogs from our car!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPKS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for one night and it was perfect for our needs. The bed was very comfortable and soft. It was very quiet. I can see drawbacks for some. Our room was T shaped with single beds the top of the T. You could see the TV from one bed and little room for another to watch. The other bed was placed directly beneath the AC. Worked perfectly for us, but again I see how it could have drawbacks for others. We had hiked a lot that day and to just go down for a good meal was very convenient. A five star for our needs, but four if we were doing anything more than an overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
You stayed in our smallest historical room, it's perfect for the people who do not need a lot of space and who wants to experience the historical part of the Lodge on a budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

These cabins are away from the main road in a nice location within the park nestled amongst pine trees. Cabin with two double beds is small but adequate for the amount of time needed. Air conditioned and tv. Bedspreads and curtains look a bit tired. Met our needs especially to be able to stay in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Eisenhower room in the State Game Lodge. The accommodations, the service, the proximity to park attractions and the food in the lodge were all great. The park itself offers abundant opportunities to hike, view wildlife and beautiful scenery.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the State Game Lodge and I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We love staying in historic national/state park lodges and are very forgiving about the imperfections that can come with old buildings; after all, you're staying there for the history and natural environment, not for luxury. Even so, we were really disappointed in our stay at the State Game Lodge this week. The lack of historical continuity in the lodge is off-putting--horrifyingly ugly 1970s wings planted next to the original lodge, a careless mix of rustic pine-style furniture and modern Italian cafe chairs (huh?) on the porch and around the property, etc.--but that stuff is no big deal compared to the room and service problems. We were in Room 42, the only lodge double (potential bookers beware). The bathroom was really dirty and the antique-reproduction bed was so loudly creaky and trembly that it woke us both up every time one of us moved a limb. We'd retired early after attempting to sit on the lodge porch to enjoy the peaceful evening; unfortunately, all of us guests were driven away by the unbelievably loud group of off-duty lodge employees who were dissecting their colleagues' characters with alcohol-fueled zeal. No lower-level employee at the lodge seems to be empowered to do anything; the hostess was not even allowed to open the register to make change from a $5 for a $2-something cup of coffee; after waiting fruitlessly for her MIA boss to show up, we scrounged around for close-to-correct change. We decided to check out a day early after our sleepless night and ask for a refund for the second night; of course, the young women at reception weren't allowed to do anything for us until someone at a higher level came to work at 9:00. We gave up and left. It will be interesting to see if we get our refund--I'm betting not, but at least we can warn others about the problems at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We strive extremely hard to insure that each and every guest to our lodge receive the highest quality service and products, returning home with a very favorable impression of Custer State Park and our facilities. However, on occasion we fall short of the high standards we have set for ourselves and we appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Address: 13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your State Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.