We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views & rooms, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added State Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
State Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Danville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views & rooms, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

From the minute you enter the lodge grounds, you know it's a beautiful place. But the food and room quality were the same standards. I actually stopped back at the Lodge restaurant to get the exact same meal I had the night before- it was that good. I stayed in all of the places- the cabins (were a little dirty), the Creekside (was beautiful and well kept) and the Coolidge Room (very neat- where President Coolidge stayed in 1927), and all were amazing. If you're looking for a family-friendly place to stay in Custer, definitely look up the Lodge. It also offers horseback riding tours, off-road buffalo tours, and many lakes and bike trails.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth it to get a room at Creekside if you want more of a hotel feel. If you have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    79
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
87
99
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The restaurant was very expensive, but the food was excellent. The coffee was terrible. We booked the room 4 months in advance and stayed 6 days. The fitted sheets came off the bed 10 minutes after we laid down. They advertise wi-fi, however it never worked in the room. "They were fixing it". It did work in the lobby or front porch. The front desk was very helpful in providing wine glasses, information on forest fires and ice.

Room Tip: Our room was on the end, very close to the trash with a general patio outside the door. Did not sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.

I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed there on a tour of the national parks.
The room we had was very adequate & clean.
This is a lovely location, very peaceful & makes one feel back to nature.
Would certainly stay here again if we ever come back this way.
Only had breakfast in the Restuarant & it was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are really disappointed in our stay at the State Game Lodge. We had been told that it was such a fantastic place, but frankly, we couldn't understand why. We had poor customer service from the moment we arrived. We are not high-maintenance people, either. Our first morning's breakfast from the restaurant was cold and not made to order. Our waitress had difficulties understanding our English. Perhaps the thing that bothers us the most is that after a day of hiking, we arrived back to our room late in the afternoon to find our door open relatively wide open. We are much too careful to leave with the door not closed all the way. The room had not been cleaned yet and replacement towels not left. Did the housekeeping staff start on the room and then get side tracked? I found the general manager and she was somewhat apologetic, but could explain no further. This stay left a sour taste. At checkout, I was treated briskly. Again, we don't need to be pampered, but an occassional smile by service staff goes a long way. I would not recommend State Game Lodge. If I were to do it over again, I would stay at the Creekside place down the hill. I took a peak in there and they greeted me and asked me how my day was. With so many lodging options, it is important to be hospitable to your guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that the State Game Lodge did not meet your expectations. We strive extremely hard to insure that each and every guest to our lodge receive the highest quality service and products, returning home with a very favorable impression of Custer State Park and our facilities. However, on occasion we fall short of the high standards we have set for ourselves and we appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention. I have taken the liberty of sharing your review with my Front Desk staff along with my housekeeping staff and the rest of my depatment heads to help us do better. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, it helps us improve on our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was an unexpected stay and the lodge once was the summer White House for Calvin Coolidge. The surrounding area was beautiful. The lodge was beautiful, had a gift shop and restaurant. The restaurant wasn't inexpensive but it was very good. The room was small, two queens and the only internet was inside the lodge itself not in the rooms. Our room appeared to be clean but there was urine in the toilet which was not an expected delight and made the room seem unclean. We made this known and they sent someone in to clean it but it was already past 7 pm and we were tired. It was mentioned to us that several people complained that their rooms were not clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills.

We have made some recent changes in the housekeeping department and I'm glad to say that improvements have been made.

I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here the last couple of days of June. It was a nice motel/hotel. Creekside looks to be pretty brand new and the room was large and comfortable. Our room and hallway were very quiet. It made for a nice respite when done touring around Custer State Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful experience! The motel rooms are connected to the lodge. We stayed on the ground floor of the two story unit. There are flowers planted outside each room with lush grass lawns. We appreciated that the air-conditioner was on when we arrived on a very hot day. The bedding is beautiful with wildlife on the spread and pillow shams with matching bed ruffle. The shower curtain too has buffalo/deer/wildlife print. The room itself was immaculately clean as was the bathroom. The bathroom is a bit tight although the tub/shower is big. No room to change in the bathroom so families should keep in mind that there isn't much privacy. The tv had sufficient channels and great reception. We ate in the lodge dining room, both lunch and breakfast, both meals were good and the service friendly. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch with a drink from the bar. Be sure to check out the fireplace, it's beautiful. The staff was friendly, the room rental was fair, and the property well-maintained. One thing, there are a lot of steps, some of the guests had a hard time on them. Otherwise, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sglmanager, General Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Custer State Park and the State Game Lodge are a great spot to headquarter out of to see the abundant wildlife and natural beauty of Custer State Park and the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Black Hills in the near future.
Insider Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor when staying the motel rooms. They are at the ground level with no steps from the upper level parking area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Address: 13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your State Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.