We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center Lake

Center Lake
Custer, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Attractions in Custer
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Fishing, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Custer State Park, this lake offers fishing, swimming and a nearby campground.
Alameda, Ca
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice place for a picnic or a swim. Clean, not crowded the day we went. Very peaceful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice Fishing Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Although we didn't catch much as this lake, our entire family enjoyed the scenic beauty, relatively easy access, amble picnic tables, and bathroom facilities available at this beautiful lake.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, low-key, GREAT campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This campground is two smallish loops and a tent area (6 sites there) right at the north end of the lake. There are no electric or sewage hookups here, so small trailers and tents are the main camping digs - no big RVs! The tent area is the best, most scenic, BUT some of the sites have a decent slope (great if it's raining, not as great when sleeping) so choose your tent site carefully. The loop sites are well-drained. Many have level tent pads. All have picnic tables and fire rings. People are sociable and roast marshmallows at night. It's quiet and peaceful. I think this is my new favorite place to camp in Custer State Park.

There's a swimming beach and you can fish for bass, walleye, sunnies, and trout in the clear lake if you have a SD license. The toilets are vault (hint: if you close the lid when you're done, it'll vent properly and not stink!) but there's a shower house down by the swimming beach.

One trail, the Grace Coolidge Hike-in Fishing Trail, has a trailhead right at the south end of the parking lot for the beach and bathhouse. Another trail, the Lakota Lake, is four miles to the northeast along the Playhouse Road (which connects the Needles Highway with the Iron Mountain Road).

There are no services at Center Lake CG, but Legion Lake is 5 miles away and Spokane Creek Resort is 4 miles away, both with wood and ice. The wood from park vendors at Legion Lake is very green and wet. Avoid it. Instead, get your wood and ice four miles down the Playhouse Road at Spokane Creek Resort.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It's a small lake with a campground, but good for fishing, easy access all around the lake.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“Nice little lake in wooded area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stopped at Center Lake recently on our June trip to South Dakota. I was surprised how few people there were here considering it was mid afternoon: just a few people fishing. A pleasant change after the crowds at Sylvan Lake.

The lake is not very big, but it's pretty. It has a little beach area that looked very nice. I liked that it seemed more wooded than a few of the other lakes we stopped at; it gave it a more secluded feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center Lake also viewed

 

Been to Center Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.