We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvan Lake

Sylvan Lake
Custer, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Custer
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular lake in Custer State Park.
Henderson, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We drove here to have a picnic lunch and hike around the lake between visiting Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. It was supposed to be a warm day when we were not in the hills. However, it was cold at the lake and it was still frozen. It was still beautiful. The rock outcroppings are incredible and we had fun scrambling up some of them. There is a path that goes around the lake that makes a nice, easy hike. Picnic tables available. My cousin, who lives nearby, said it is packed with people during the summer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    87
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of he best hikes in the hills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This lake in Custer State Park is a amazing place to spend the day. Bring your hiking shoes and some water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“OMG just the most beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is amazing. Just a small lake but so beautiful. We just stopped for a half hour on our way out of the park an on our drive through the needles highway. This is such a neat place. We climbed the rocks and took tons of pictures. I wish we had time to take a boat our and have a picnic but we were rushing. A must.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful even in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very scenic little lake at the top of a great mountain drive.
Very lonely in winter.
Imagine it would be a fantastic spot in summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful lakes I have EVER seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous lake located at the edge of Needles Highway (a highway with amazing views of rock spires). Smaller (but still huge) spires stick out of this lake and create a breathtaking view. You can climb onto some of the spires and jump off into the surrounding deep water.

You can also rent paddle boats, kayaks, and other water equipment. There is a nice trail that surrounds part of the lake and follows some cascades (or small waterfalls). There are bathrooms, changing areas, restaurants, and lodging right next to the lake.

There are so many awesome stops surrounding this area. You could spend weeks (as I have) exploring the rest of the adventures and attractions in the Black Hills.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Lake also viewed

 

Been to Sylvan Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvan Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.