We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Custer to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Shakopee, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed two nights the room could have been cleaner. It was dusty, drawers were full of crumbs, so I had to wipe them out before placing anything in there. The Kleenex box was empty also that was a inconvenience. My husband took the kids to the pool and it was freezing it was definitely not heated, so they never went back. It was disappointing, since we were looking forward to using the pool, but it was too cold my 6 year old son's lips were turning blue definitely a sign to get out of the pool. The location was convenient and breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast and it was kept stocked staff was friendly. Overall it was ok, but will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Don't get the room near the exit door. Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
109
87
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. The beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The pillows were also amazing. The beds were even better than some five star hotels we have stayed in. The staff is unhappy, none of them smile and when you greet them they tell you how miserable they are BUT this did not affect our stay at all and we would definitely stay here again. The breakfast buffet was good & plentiful. The location is great very close to all the stores & restaurants and also reasonably close to Custer State Park, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Custer, and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. We strive for great hospitality and customer service. We couldn't do it without wonderful guests like yourself! Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Location is close to custer state park and mt.rushmore. Room was clean and beds were good. Pool was big and hot tub was nice. The breakfast area was big and plenty of seats available. If I go to custer again I will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are so happy you were comfortable in our guest rooms! We love to hear such great feedback! I deeply apologize that our staff was not more friendly. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel were extremley rude. Wanted the license plates for our truck, trailer and bike. Then after we went to get them he said he didn't really need them. The breakfast might have been good if they had enough. Everytime they would bring out a tray of food, there were so many people waiting it was instantly gone. Then it would take 20 minutes to replace it. As if they really had to cook the prepaired food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely surprized that you had any issues with our front desk or breakfast. We take pride in providing outstanding customer service to all of our guests. Please know that we are deeply sorry for any issues that you encountered and that our management team will review your comments and make the nessasary changes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your travels through the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I loved this hotel! The staff was very kind and helpful! The rooms were very clean! The kids enjoyed the clean pool. They sold post cards in the lobby 4/$1.00 (the cheapest the kids could find anywhere on the whole trip) And, we enjoyed the free breakfast each morning, lots of choices and a varying menu each day. Great sausage gravy & biscuits and waffle stations! The hotel is conveniently located in Custer. I have already recommended this hotel to some friends who will be visiting in a couple of weeks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel still looked and felt like a pretty new place. It is situated right next to two other similar looking hotels (the Holiday Inn and Super 8). Rooms, staff, and service were both very good and as expected. The plus is that the breakfast had better than expected hot plate options (which varied somewhat each day). The negative was the price was a bit high, even for a touristy center like Custer in mid-summer, but still comparable.

Yes it was a several blocks from the "downtown," but we are talking about a small town. I only noticed the EconoLodge as being right in middle of the few blocks of stores. If you don't want to drive the 2.5 minutes, there are still a few good dining option within a block or two. Try the Dakota Cowboy restaurant across the street for some quality local fare, and the "Purple Pie Place (actual name) as well....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Custer, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Right across the street from the Flintstones Bed Rock attraction. A few blocks out of downtown and a few miles to Jewel Cave. We reserved a larger room with 2 Queens and it was huge. Good beds. Attractive. Very clean. Breakfast was tasty and well maintained. Adequate space for the number of guests. Ample parking. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were glad we asked for an oversized room. Less expensive than a suite and without a couch, but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National MemorialThe Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial mountain monument, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. The Flintstones Bedrock City theme park is across the street from this Custer, SD hotel.Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. The Mammoth Site, the world's largest mammoth research facility, is about one hour away in the city of Hot Springs.Nestled in the majestic beauty of the Black Hills of South Dakota, the city of Custer has something for everyone. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.