We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Custer to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel has a great location for visiting the Black Hills. My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The room was okay, we were disappointed that the room did not have a refrigerator or microwave, especially since this is one of Choice Hotels hight brands. Everyother hotel we stayed at on our trip, including budget hotels at least had a refrigerator. You'll need to pay for a premium room if you want one. The breakfast was not anything special and we passed on it the second moring and went to one of the local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
110
87
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is in a great location - Custer is lovely and quiet but all the nearby tourist attractions are easily accessible from here. The staff are very professional and helpful , the rooms are comfortable and roomy, and the beds are comfy. The only downside was that the breakfast room wasn't really big enough to cater for the number of people trying to have breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again, but would have a suite next time to ensure we have get a fridge - you need in in the summer months.

Room Tip: suites have frridges - rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is a super value............It was very clean, up to date, great service and the breakfast offers a variety of foods for any individual. It is a few minutes from Crazy Horse and Custer Park and 20 minutes from Mt. Rushmore. We stayed in Rapid City the following night and wished we had made this our base of operation.The hotel desk has enlarged maps and the desk personnel were very knowledgeable of helping to plan my time wisely. After Labor Day is the time to visit this area....it was busy but not crazy....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My Dad and I drove from Illinois to Wyoming and stopped in Custer after seeing Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The place was comfortable and quiet and was close to downtown with great restaurants and site seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great value in a very convenient location for my family of five. Highly recommended if you are travelling with small kids. The breakfast and pool are great! the rooms are basic, but clean and totally functional. Front desk staff was very nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family visited and stayed for five nights in late June. We were pleasantly surprised by this place... it is maintained well, the daily room upkeep is very good, and the desk staff is especially helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay again when we go back to the Black Hills.
The pool and the breakfast dining are very good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we only stayed the one night and were impressed on how nice looking the Hotel was, the room ws comfortable and clean, the breakfast was real good more choices than the average continental meal . this place is close to all the major attractions in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National MemorialThe Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial mountain monument, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. The Flintstones Bedrock City theme park is across the street from this Custer, SD hotel. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. The Mammoth Site, the world's largest mammoth research facility, is about one hour away in the city of Hot Springs.Nestled in the majestic beauty of the Black Hills of South Dakota, the city of Custer has something for everyone. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.