We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Creek Grille

Sage Creek Grille
607 Mt Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
(605) 673-2424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Edwardsville, Il
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Burger haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our group of 8 arrived on the first day of the new menu for post tourist season. Only open Tues and Wed 5-7 for burger nite. Choice of Buffalo or regular and many accompaniments to chose from. Many choices of beer on tap via a local brewery

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    83
    42
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fantastic hamburgers and I LOVED the herbed onion soup. Wish I had the recipe.. A great place to eat and the staff are wonderful. Thanks for a great experience. P&J

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice casual atmosphere, great service, unique menu choices and excellent food.
We were not excpecting this type of restaurant in Custer, SD.
Their menu and flavors were excellent. The type of upscale restaurant you would expect in a major city.
My wife had a grilled cheese sandwich that gives new meaning to this simple item.
A grilled cheese sandwich will never taste the same!
The chili soup was out of this world - not your typical thick bean and red meat mixture.
The salad with grilled salmon and topped with melted cheese was extraordinary.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Creative, fresh menu in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've eaten at the Grille two years in a row while visiting Custer State Park. The menu is interesting, the food creatively seasoned and very fresh. The wine and beer selection, while not extensive, offers some options we hadn't seen elsewhere. The breads and salads all were above average. The interior is charming and the service was above average as well. This restaurant could hold its own in much larger city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Found this little Grille by chance. The food was so great at lunch we returned later for dinner. Food prepared by a chef who takes pride in not only the taste of the food but how it looks on your plate. I highly reccomend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sage Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Creek Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.