We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't roller skate in a buffalo herd...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custer State Park

Custer State Park
13329 US Highway 16A East Custer, SD 57730, Custer, SD 57730
605-255-4515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Hiking, Horseback riding, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 73,000-acre wilderness that draws comparisons to Yellowstone National Park when it comes to spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You can't roller skate in a buffalo herd...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

...and you really can't! We only had time to drive the Wildlife Loop, and it was also closing in at the end of the day, so we weren't sure if we would see anything. Patience pays. Along with the miles and miles of grassy hills and valleys, keep your eyes eyes open for birds, prairie dogs, and big game. (We did get stuck in a rather large buffalo herd that decided to share the road with the cars.) Drive slowly, and be sure to bring your camera. If you have a good zoom lens, even better. Fee to enter the park: $15 USD/vehicle that entitles you to re-enter for 7 days. There were construction crews working on the park roads during our visit, which meant some long delays, but have patience: it's worth the wait.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    248
    37
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our visit to Bisonville USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in the Area of Custer State Park,but did not intend to visit there. We spoke with a sales lady in a shop at Custer S.D. She told us is was only 3 miles to the entrance. So we went. I recommend Custer State Park for it's mountain views, it's beautiful drives, and if no other reason the huge herd of Bison we found on a dead end gravel Road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Custer State Park is a wonderful place to see wildlife up close. We saw many many buffalo. We were lucky enough to see them with their babies as well as watch the yearlings fighting. We also saw several antelope, coyotes, prairie dogs and many beautiful birds. There is a lovely inn at the park as well as camping. The visitor center is very clean and has exhibits for the kids. The drive from the park on the Needles Highway toward Mt. Rushmore is a must see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another place in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Again, we drove though this park in our RV, then went back to finish where the RV wouldn't fit...Buffalo walked up to our RV, they were amazing. The bridges that were there were made out of wood, You drive though rock..just a wonderful tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great home base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Custer State Park has a lot of hiking and several scenic drives. It is central to many of the typical Black Hills attractions. We loved staying at the Blue Bell Lodge in one of the cabins.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custer State Park also viewed

 

Been to Custer State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custer State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.