We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced like a better hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Custer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Custer to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dulles, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Priced like a better hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is rather nice with its small waterfall and its pool but not worth 159 dollars a night. The room wasn't spotless, the breakfast was ok. Good points: friendly staff and plenty of parking spots. We tried a restaurant they recommended (Buglin' Bull) and were very disappointed. Overall, it was an average experience in an average hotel. Nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that you had an average stay, we take pride in our property and always thrive to make each and every stay a better one. Thanks for your comments, as it helps us to be better. Hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    109
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
154
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyden, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place was great. Every aspect of it. The room was clean, comfortable and roomy, We had the room with a separate King bed and tv. The lobby was beautiful and clean, staff very nice. Breakfast was also good. Absolutely no complaints!! We traveled with 3 adults and 2 kids and everone was happy. The firepit area was very pretty. Staff seems very proud of their hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that we have to offer. We do take pride in our hotel and its nice to hear that it does pay off. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

HI Express Custer is exactly what you would expect from HI. The hotel was clean, room was spacious and breakfast was hot and ready. The property had a nice pool and great patio with waterfall feature and fire pit ready for s'mores. The problem isn't the hotel, it's Custer. The hotel is a hike from town but that didn't matter because Custer is a tired and dated town. The food and entertainment options were uninspiring in the amazing beauty that is the Black Hills. If you go with kids, keep driving to Keystone. If you left the kids at home, keep driving to Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Also, happy that you enjoyed the back patio and fire pit. Hope to see you the next time you travel to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, our room had a really scenic view and every night after supper we got to see deer come down from the hills to eat right behind the hotel. Nice room & staff were all great, breakfast in the morning was good & constantly being restocked :) The hotel was a bit more then I wanted to pay but really was nice. I'm glad I decided to spend a little more the great staff and great views made it totally worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer SD. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The deer frequent our back patio often and our guests really enjoy that. Also, happy that you were able the finish your stay off with a nice hot breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a well kept up property. The staff was very responsive and cordial. The breakfast was a good value, but the limited choices got old by the third day. Where were the hash browns and bacon? Best thing was the back patio with the fire pit. Would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the HIE in Custer, and taking the time to write a review on our property. Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to also hear that our employees are doing their job. Again, thanks and we hope to see you again when you are in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited the Rapid City/Rushmore area in late June 2013 and made a reservation here in part because it was so busy everywhere else, but I have to say we lucked into the find. The hotel is beautiful, clean, easy to access, and has a stunning waterfall built into the hillside in the back yard that makes for great viewing while you enjoy breakfast. The breakfasts were wonderful, huge hits with our kids, and the staff were very helpful. The pool and hot tub were both in great shape and our kids spent a lot of time there. Custer is the perfect spot to serve as a 'home base' for exploring the area, as it's close to most things and nothing is a super long drive. We especially liked the town's quieter feel; Keystone is far busier and a lot more geared toward tourists, and Custer feels like a place where people live. Wish we'd had time to explore the downtown area a little more. Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel (waterfall view)- it's beautiful day and night as the waterfall is lit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel overlook the waterfall, which is lit at night and just as beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our property and strive for each and every guest to have a great experience. Again, thanks and we hope to see you the next time you visit the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We rolled into town without reservations.  We needed a room that fit our family of five, including 3 preteens.  The man at the desk showed me a king suite with a pull out couch and said he could add a rollaway bed. You'd think it would be really tight, but the room was spacious and it was no problem.  We just folded up the couch again every day.  We ended up liking it and the area so much that we stayed an additional two nights.

The place is modern and clean.  While it was built five years ago, it is only open for the summers - so wear is limited.  Every single employee I spoke with was friendly and helpful.  The free breakfast was varied and plentiful.  The guest laundry was fast, efficient, and a good value.  If there was one complaint, it'd be that the pull out mattress was a little lumpy.  But, hey, it's a pull out.  What do you expect?  The room itself wasn't cheap, but not outrageously expensive either.  We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Nice that we could accomodate your family of five. Sorry that the pullout mattress was a little out of shape, we will work on replacing it. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Custer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.