We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, just skip the "free" breakfast and plan to eat elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Custer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Custer to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Custer
Moorestown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, just skip the "free" breakfast and plan to eat elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location and placed away from the main road. The lobby and room were very nice with plenty of room. Everything worked, the bed was awesome. The staff was very pleasant.
However, we havent experienced such a bad breakfast ever. They should either fix it or get rid of it. Cheese omlette were frozen and made from powdered eggs and tasteless cheese. Bacon was as thin as copy paper. Hard boiled eggs sat in a watery container.. yuck all around unless you have kids who will eat anything. Too bad as the rest of the experience was great.

Room Tip: Our rear facing room was very quiet. Front rooms should not be noisy as the hotel is placed far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the comfy beds. Sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to standards. We will strive to make sure that is more desirable in the future. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    108
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
152
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great room, great staff, great breakfast. We had a 2 room suite that was perfect for a family of 5. Breakfast each morning was great. The price they gave me when checking in was different than my online pricing, and they quickly adjusted the price for me. Sheets for the pull out couch were missing, and they got those to us immediately after we called the front desk. Very close to restaurants and a great mini-golf course. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Property. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear about the rate discrepency and the sheets for the pull out couch, nice to hear that we got that taken care of for you in a timely fashion. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good location in a great little town. The room was clean, the A/C and the TV worked, the staff was helpful and friendly, and we had a little refrigerator in the room which came in handy for water and snacks. The lobby was pleasant and there were enough tables for everyone at breakfast. They had at least one laundry room which we did not use, but might have if we had been there longer.
Now the not-so-good. Don’t pay extra like I did for a balcony room and make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel, whichever room type you ask for. I booked this hotel months in advance, requesting a balcony room at the back of the hotel after I read glowing TA reviews from people talking about sitting on their balcony overlooking a lovely wooded area. Instead what we got was a balcony room overlooking a noisy highway and the Flintstones park. So disappointing.
I understand that there are a limited number of balcony rooms but please do like other hotels do and specify when I book on your website what side of the hotel my room is on. The front side of the hotel that faces the highway doesn't have good sound-proofing.
Also as others have mentioned, the breakfast had some problems. (Of course it is not actually free but factored into the price of the room). There are a lot of choices at the breakfast –maybe too many choices in fact. It’s like an all you can eat buffet with a lot of low quality food. Our last day of the trip we stayed at another hotel and we grabbed premade breakfast sandwiches at Seattle’s Best. Seattle’s Best does not have a lot of choices – just oatmeal or sandwiches on English muffins - but those sandwiches were way better than anything we had at the Holiday Inn Express buffet, proving that you don’t have to have a ton of different things or even fancy food to please people. Just have a few things but please do them well – at least as well as I could do myself at home, hopefully a little better. Also it would be nice if they would offer more multigrain choices. There were white flour pancakes, white flour English muffins, white flour biscuits, white flour bagels and just some plain wheat bread for toast. The second day I gave in and grabbed a white bagel only to find it hard, dry, and stale. Finally, our third day there was a weekend and it was a little busier in the dining room. Even though there were 2 hostesses, they couldn't keep up with the hot food at all.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room on the backside of the hotel. Front side is noisy. Call them to confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. Sorry to hear that you did not get a balcony room on the backside of the hotel. We try to meet everyones requests and it seems we fell short on yours. We will make every attempt to specify wether we have front or back balcony rooms available at the time of the reservation. Sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to your standards, we do have to comply with Holiday on the items that we serve. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is within walking distance of Custer's main street shopping/dining area, which was nice for the days when the ladies wanted some retail therapy and the men wanted to do something different. Also within walking distance are the Flintstones theme park and a miniature golf course. It is very near Jewel Cave as well as Custer State Park and the rest of the Black Hills attractions are easily accessible.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed directions or suggestions for dinner.

The hotel has a nice patio area with a gas fireplace, which the staff was happy to light for us when we wanted to sit outside in the evening. There are several patio tables, which were nice for a late afternoon snack and cocktails by the waterfall.

The lobby area is very welcoming and comfortable. The breakfast dining area has a "great room" feel, with a fireplace, couch/chairs and many tables for eating breakfast.

The only negative we experienced was the breakfast set up. The food is pretty good considering that it's a free hotel breakfast (the cinnamon rolls are fantastic), but the heartier items such as bacon/eggs/sausage went very quickly and the staff seemed to have trouble keeping up with the crowd of families. Other foods such as fruit, cereal, etc were much easier to come by. There is something for everyone.

Overall, our stay was very pleasant and I recommend the hotel. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some higher floors have private balconies but the first floor rooms do not have anything comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. Its customers like yourself that make us strive to be our best. Very happy that you enjoyed the accomodations. Nice hearing also that our staff was helpful. Sorry about the hot breakfast items, sometimes its hard to keep up, and we do our best to accomodate everyone. Hope to see you the next time you are in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You can not best this location. Mt Rushmore is so close as is Custer State Park etc...
The hotel is kept very clean. People working are very nice and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable.
The breakfast is served from 6.30am giving you an early start and its not bad.
Once breakfast is over the breakfast area is opening to relaxing. We spent many hours resting there after a long day of walking.
Only complaint is the nose. You can hear people running around the halls and walking over head.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to respond to our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel. Our employees take pride in the property. Sorry that things were a bit noisy, with several families traveling this time of year that can happen. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in an area where most places are not so nice and new. It was very clean and I liked that the breakfast area is very large to accomodate all the tourists each morning. The front desk staff is very nice and seem proud to work there. The fitness room is very basic, but I liked that it looked out to the outside and to the pool. There is a really nice backporch for the hotel with a firepit that many people enjoyed. Some rooms have balconies and we had nice view of the mountain behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Its nice to hear that our employees take pride in their jobs. We hope that you will stay with us again when in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed recently at the Holiday Inn Express in Custer, SD based largely on the good reviews we read on various sites. While the hotel had many nice amenities (pool, free internet, free breakfast) and a great mountain setting and location, overall it didn't quite meet our expectations. First off, the breakfast was pretty bland and even a little cold. We don't expect a lot with free anything, but having cold eggs, etc is a little disappointing. Second, when we used the pool the water temperature was too cold for any of us and we returned to our room a short time later to warm up. When we asked for clean sheets one morning we were told quickly by the front desk that they would have the sheets changed. When we returned to our room in the evening we found the bed made with the same dirty sheets and had to call the desk twice before sheets were brought up. Finally, on the day of our checkout a mystery $30 fee had been assessed and I had to go down again to the front desk to have it removed. Overall, it is a nice hotel, but disappointed based on the cost and our experiences elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not up to standard. We strive to do the best we can and looks like we felt short this time. We will take these comments to heart and learn from them to better serve in the future. Hope that next time you are in the Custer area, you will give us another chance to prove ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Custer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.