We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Custer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Custer to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Custer
McCormick, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late August, had a room in the rear with the hill view (no balcony but you could go outside on the patio off the breakfast area by the waterfall and enjoy the landscape). Rooms were 202 and 204 and were quiet. Nice to be able to walk down to breakfast and yet have the elevator for carrying up bags. The business center with 3 computers was handy, cookies at the desk were also nice. Breakfast had great variety from pancakes, bacon, cereals, omelets, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. no one went hungry. Very clean and comfortable with great pillows! Convenient to Crazy Horse, Custer and Mt Rushmore.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rear is nice with the option to walk down (there are 3 floors). We did not ask for it, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    108
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
152
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Acceptable rate and good location. People very nice, rooms clean, good indoor pool, but exercise room only average. Restaurants in town only OK, especially Bullyn Bull, if that's the spelling. Area has lots of things for children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Looks to me as if the hotel is quite new. Therefore, nothing to complain! Very clean rooms. Laundry room for guests with new wachine machines. Nice sitting area outside but wouldn't have enough space for everyone - gladly most people stay wihtin air-conditioning!
We could even watch deer while having breakfast. Great coffee - available for free 24h!
Custer itself is a cute town - one of nicer ones in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our favorite hotel on our Black Hills trip. Large lobby and biggest breakfast area of the 5 hotels we stayed in. Outdoor seating in a beautiful setting with a waterfall and deer munching on grass on the hill. Smallish pool that seemed a little cloudy but with big windows and lovely view. Clean small fitness room which we were happy to find had two treadmills! Clean decent sized room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There were many things that were good about this hotel: the location in Custer, with plenty of good restaurants and close to Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore, as well as a fun crazy golf course, is great. The rooms were good. We had a suite for us and our two children and it was very spacious, with good-sized beds and television sets in both rooms. It was very clean and well-kept. There are also good laundry facilities.

However there were several things that let down the hotel for us. The soundproofing is dreadful and we were very disturbed by noise from the room above us and in the corridors. The breakfast was extremely poor. There were long and bad-tempered queues for the food (the hot food kept on running out) and it really was not worth the wait. After the first two days, we ended up going out for breakfast instead.

The worst thing though was the way that the pool was run. There was the usual set of rules- no horseplay, no alcohol, no ball games, etc. However this was not supervised in any way and the rules were all blatantly ignored, which ruined the whole experience for our children who actually wanted to swim. For examples, one evening there was a group of people who were bombing in and out of the pool and drinking beer by the poolside which was intimidating and really not appropriate in what is supposed to be a family-friendly hotel. When we went and complained to the desk staff, they refused to do anything about it as they said it was a wedding party.

We discussed it with the desk staff the following morning and they said that they would have the manager contact us. We have still not heard anything from the manager a week later which seems to show just how seriously they take guest satisfaction and we really feel very disappointed by the whole experience.

Room Tip: It isn't worth paying for a balcony- ours overlooked the dustbins and seemed to be next to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Jeclark14,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After several hours enjoying Custer State Park, we found this hotel to be a good choice for winding down from our travels. The property is very inviting and rooms are spacious. The breakfast area is among the largest I have seen in a hotel and there was a good variety of food choices. The beds were large, comfortable, and irresistible. The only negative experience was that the bathroom had not been left as clean as it should have been, but the staff promptly responded to our concerns. Overall it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first time in South Dakota and chose Custer for its proximity to Crazy Horse and of course Mount Rushmore (both of which are FANTASTIC). We chose a balcony room and even though it was on the road side of the building there was no noise and we enjoyed sitting and watching the comings and goings. If you are not a fan of the Flintstones choose a room at the back as Bedrock is smack bang opposite the hotel!!!. The complimentary breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There was a parade on the morning we left which we really enjoyed and although it held us up a little we were more than happy to stay a little longer in this charming town. We also got to sample pie and ice-cream at the Purple Pie Place (do not miss!!!). All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Custer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.