We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing site but need good-excellent Spanish skills or a translator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitio Barriles Museum

Sitio Barriles Museum
Volcan, Panama
011-507-6575-1828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Volcan
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Boquete, Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Intriguing site but need good-excellent Spanish skills or a translator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went to Sitio Barriles Museum with two other people (one native Spanish speaker and one good Spanish speaker). I speak very little Spanish and would have been completely lost if they were not with me! The tour mainly consisted of walking through the Barilles grounds looking at the tropical plants on the property. It was quite interesting, especially since many of them have medicinal properties. The musuem itself was very tiny as it turns out that most of the larger/quality pieces are in a museum in Panama City. It was interesting to see the original excavation site though. At the end we were served delicious homemade cheese and jam with crackers and ended up buying some to take back to the hotel. Overall, a pretty good experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible place; everyone who visits this area should stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stopped here while son our way to Boquete after our driver strongly recommended it. We're both very interested in American Indian history and artifacts in The States so we agreed. The assortment of artifacts on this property is amazing and our guide, Edna, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We took over 100 photos and not a day goes by now that one of us doesn't mention this place. Edna has plans to build a visitor's center and to make bigger strides to get the word out about this gem. Please stop; you'll be glad you did. Bring water and wear long pants and hiking boots. Expect to spend at least 2 hours there to get the full experience which shouldn't be rushed. Edna only charges $4 per person I think and she should be charging more! It's a good price for families but she deserves more! We donated much more to her efforts because we just didn't feel her low fee was fair.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool to actually learn history from a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I mean, you are not going to find a Machu Pichu here in panama, but for some of panamas historical treasures, this might be one of your best options. The tour guide was very informative and you make a donation upon completion. You move along at your own pace and can basically have your tour to yourself if you are the only one there at the moment. Homemade marmalade, healing rocks, and more history then could be remembered. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Learned Alot and a very knowledgeable onsite guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There seems to be great history to be learned here. The caretakers were very passionate about the property and its richness. Worth making a decent donation. I do not think this place gets as many visitors as it deserves.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is an exceptional site. The artifacts are on site, and many are in situ. 5,000 years of habitation. Surprisingly, there is strong evidence African and Asian cultures lived side by side in perfect harmony during some of the time the site was occupied. The guide, whose American grandfather bought the land for coffee farming long ago, is well educated and exceptionally knowledgeable. This was the highlight of my entire trip to Panama! I LOVED this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitio Barriles Museum also viewed

Cerro Punta, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Sitio Barriles Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitio Barriles Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.