We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't use this company” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Go With Gus Tours

Go With Gus Tours
| Livingston, Izabal, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
011-502-7-947-0694
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Izabal
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't use this company”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our ship booked Go with Gus Tours at the port of Puerto Quetzal, Guatemala. Across the board the tours did not match the writeup about the tours. Our guide had never been to Antigua and couldn't find the resturant were we were having lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pacaya Volcano - Best tour of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stopped at 8 ports on our cruise and this was the best excursion. Gus's wife, Ira, gave us a big hug at the cruise terminal, walked us to her car, and drove us an hour to the foot of the Pacaya Volcano. We met a very kind guide who walked with us at our pace up the Volcano and stopped to show us plants and wildlife along the way. When we reached the top, the guide whipped out marshmallows and sticks so that we could toast marshmallows on the volcano. We walked down the other side of the volcano through wildlife into a small village, where Ira was waiting for us with a home-cooked Guatemalan meal. Thanks!!!!!!

Note: To hike the volcano, you'll want to be physically fit. If you're not, there are horse "taxis" available for $25 each way (maybe it was less -- I can't remember). You won't be able to get all the way to the lava crater since it's active, but you'll get pretty close to the top where you can roast marshmallows on the heat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A major highlight on our western Caribbean cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Go with Gus runs well-organized tours connecting with cruise ships at Santo Tomas, Guatemala.
Our tour with this independent operator was a major highlight on our western Caribbean cruise on HAL’s Ryndam. We chose to take the trip to San Felipe and Banana Plantation with lunch, with the intention of gaining our own impressions of rural Guatemala; we chose Go with Gus because of the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor and elsewhere.
We were courteously met by Gus and his team at the pier in Santo Tomas and were guided to his speedboat which brought us across the bay to Livingston with about 20 other visitors. We took a short break at his hotel on the waterside, where Gus introduced himself while we enjoyed some local fresh fruit. We then visited a junior school across the river, where we handed out some little presents to the kids and their mothers. For the rest of the day the four of us had an individual tour. First we went along the spectacular Rio Dulce by boat, pausing on the way to look more closely at the nature and other points of interest. On arrival at San Filipe we visited the fort and then had a delicious lunch at a nearby restaurant on the lakeside. The tour continued by road, with a minibus to ourselves. The route went through La Ruidosa and Entre Rios back to the cruise terminal. On the way we briefly stopped at a banana plantation, but this was quite short, as we needed to be back on time for the departure of the ship.
Our guide for the day was Isai, who enthusiastically explained what we were seeing. He knowledgeably answered our questions about the region and about Guatemala; being a small group we were also able to engage in an interesting conversation comparing life in our two countries; that made the day especially enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been on 10 cruises and have taken many shore excursions and this BY far is the best one I have ever taken. You will truley see the culture and Gus is one of the kindest men I have ever met. He is very good at showing you what typical tours do not. A plus!!! I highly suggest this to anyone!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW is all I can say....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are a 64 year old couple, some walking limitations, nothing bad.

Go With Gus was the most amazing day! I researched "Gus" before we went on the Holland America to Santo Tomas. It looked like a wonderful excursion. But it was so much better than I even thought. We were met in the building at the port with a huge hug from Gus and his wife. It was amazing. We feel like we have made a new friend. The boat ride was great, but the day was beautiful. If it had been windy it may have been rough, but we love the water. The extra care he took with us was enlightening. Visiting the school has made us want to go back again soon. The lunch they served was so delicious...fresh bread, fresh fish, huge delicious shrimp, rice, veggies. I loved it and as a rule, I don't like fish. More than you could eat. A beautiful ride, beautiful trip and fantastic man who makes sure to take time to visit and learn something about each person

Some tips if you Go With Gus...
Take pencils, school supplies, stickers, books, chocolate candies, etc for children. They and their moms really enjoyed getting gifts of clothing put together by the crew of our ship. Evidently a crew member went on Gus's tour the week before and was so impressed he got the crew members to put together 3 boxes of clothing etc. The funniest was a pair of high heels. One of the moms got those and was so excited. The other moms teased her and had fun. I fell in love with one of the small girls, her mother and sister. I hope to find a way to "adopt" them and send them money or whatever they need. We don't have lots but want to share. They are a happy group of people and smile beautifully and freely for you.

Take change and dollar bills. There will be opportunities to pass them to the children fishing or buy their little bracelets. Mine are treasures.

We did have a rather long walk through Livingston and up hill some. It was interesting to see the village as it really is. But if you tell Gus you can't walk far, he will show you a short walk and place to wait. Getting in and out of the boat a lot could be hard for some. They do help and make sure you are ok.

Wear a bathing suit under your clothes. You will want to swim in the hot springs. It was envigorating. Your clothes will dry before you get back to ship.

By all means, take a camera, sd card and charged batteries. We thought our batteries were charged, turns out they were not. Could only take a few pictures.
ht tears to my eyes.
Gus personally made sure you had enjoyed your day. Listen to his stories, he has had an amazing life. He answers any and all questions, honestly. All of them singing and waving until we were nearly gone.

I was also impressed to look off the side of the ship as we pulled out. Tons of cars, police cars, tour vehicles etcwere at the port to see us off. The Garifuna women danced and some men played some instruments. As we pulled out, they waved and yelled out thank yous.

We love you Gus and will be in touch to send things for the kids. We want to keep this in the front of our hearts and continue to support these children any way we can.

Will try to make this trip again in the fall when our grandchildren are out of school to bring them with us. Thanks again, Gus

Nancy and Brian from Knoxville, Tennessee

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go With Gus Tours also viewed

Izabal, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 
Izabal, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 

Been to Go With Gus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go With Gus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Go With Gus Tours to your Saves list