We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT eat here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Restaurant

River's Edge Restaurant
801 Decatur Street, On Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-525-4478
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #872 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do NOT eat here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Terrible service, awful inedible food. Avoid this place! We stumbled across this place on our first day in New Orleans. We were starving after walking around the French Quarter and the menu looked decent enough - big mistake. The waiters were rude and when our food arrived at the table it was absolutely disgusting. We simply could not eat it. I had ordered an omelette and they managed to create a horrible concoction.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    64
    49
    40
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

A few people told us that this place was good for breakfast, so we gave it a whirl. The omlets and french toast were both pretty good. Service was good overall a good breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not bad, but nothing to brag about, either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for brunch and the food was good. I had the waffle. Nothing to rave about. The atmosphere was touristy, right in the heart of the French Quarter, directly across the street from Cafe du Monde. The service was good. Restrooms were a little shady, being out back through a little alley right behind the ice machine, but I guess that's how they do it at the Quarter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
“good location, pretty good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stumbled across this as we were looking for a late breakfast and were attracted by the location and the all-day breakfast sign. The choices were limited but the food was good. Very good central location right on the main square. Service was pretty good but my wife learned while in the bathroom that our server doesn't wash her hands...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy breakfast and duck the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The rain put a damper on the day but we decided to have a late breakfast. Food was excellent as was the service. I had Paine Perdue. (Probably spelled that wrong but it means forgotten bread. Day Old). Stale bread is best for French toast.It holds together better than fresh) My friends had a variety of other offerings and all were excellent.)

Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Edge Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to River's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.