We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy taste buds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zea

Zea
1525 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
504-520-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,665 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy taste buds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went with friends for our 25th anniversary dinner. The dinning room is very comfy but very loud. It was hard to hear each other at the table. They had a few large groups of 8 or more and the sound just carries and bounces around, very disappointing. The food was delicious every one was happy with flavor and portion sizes. Our server was slow, he seemed new. He was very nice and attentive. They gave us cake with a candle for our anniversary, that was a very nice surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    84
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The food and service are great. Our waiter David couldn't be beat. My only complaint is the noise level. All of the walls are mirrored so all the voices and music just bounce off of everywhere. To the point you wouldn't even want to stay for an after dinner drink.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
“Its All About the Duck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited Zea on the recommendation of Tripadvisor and was somewhat disappointed on arrival to learn that it was a casual chain restaurant....

We got off to a bad start with extremely poor and slow service likely brought about by the fullness of the restaurant with an overcapacity waiting lounge to boot. The appetizers that we sampled being the tortilla crusted crab cakes, tuna sashimi stack and spicy wok seared edamame were all simply mediocre reminiscent of any run of the mill casual restaurant chain.

Then came the main courses: the "twice cooked crispy duck" was exceptional and as fine as one could indulge in anywhere in the world even in the finest of five star culinary European establishments and the like. Having sampled duck in some of the finest restaurants throughout the world, Zea wasn't merely on par, but surpassed them all with extraordinary flavour and cooked to perfection with virtually no remnants of fat. Similarly, the "southern fried fish" was also top notch as were the accompanying roasted corn grits.

The service lacked, but the main courses made it a restaurant decidedly worth a return trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Thai Rib's, lip smacking good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

When not if you go to Zea's, please have the Thai Rib Stack for your appetizer, and your entree should be the Bronzed Rainbow Trout, as one of your sides try the red beans, you choose your second side. You will be very, very pleased. This is my husband's favorite meal on Friday's when we do dinner and a movies. You will not be disappointed. If you take the streetcar, you can jump off an visit this restaurant, and continue on to the Riverbend area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“food good...price good...too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The food was good. The ribs were good, nice flavor. The étouffée sauce was blah, I have had much better at home in Cincinnati. Caesar salad was the best part of the meal. Good menu variety for our group. Very nice service. Do not come here if you expect to socialize. It was incredibly noisy. We could barley talk to the person next to us. Need to do something to buffer the noise. All in all just okay, I would skip this place...many better places to go in New Orleans.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zea also viewed

 

Been to Zea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.