We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey, but pretty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Riverfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisey, but pretty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I usually try to wait to review a hotel until the last day but this really can't wait. The hotel is beautiful and well located. The room and the bathroom are very clean and comfortable. The staff is kind and the food is great. However, the noise level is a little much. I understand that in a hotel it's hard to maintain quiet; but the constant door slamming, loud hallway conversations and thin walls are hard to deal with. Keep in mind I brought sleep aids and ear plugs.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs but that might not even be enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent five days here over Xmas. The room was nice, with a neat view of Riverwalk, Convention Center, etc. The hotel is on Convention Ctr Blvd. and you're just sort of out there in what feels a little like no mans land, especially if you came to enjoy the French Quarter. It's about a 20 minute walk each way, which is okay for the first day or two but gets kind of old, fast. You can take a trolley but end up waiting longer than if you walked. There are some decent restaurants in the area but not a big selection. The hotel restaurant really lacks character and the food is overpriced (not surprisingly) but the quiche on the breakfast menu was divine. Parking is expensive as well (again, not surprising) so we parked in a long term lot at the Convention Ctr (near Mardi Gras World) for $10/day, though it was about a mile walk each way. Works out if you don't plan to drive. Free wifi in the rooms was appreciated. Will probably not stay here again, though no real complaints.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I am actually writing this review from the lobby. This is my second day of a three day stay. First impressions were good. The rooms are nice but not as clean as they could be. The vent in the bathroom was covered in dust and whatever cleaning rag used had left a few stray pieces of what I hope was lint. The lobby bar is great. I had Simone as a bartender. She was friendly and helpful even calling local spots to see if they were open for me since it was Christmas Eve. I had high hopes until today-Christmas day. Our group returned to the hotel looking forward to eating in the restaurant. As we prepared to enter the almost empty dining area, the hostess refused to seat us and stated we had to eat in the lobby instead. It might not have concerned me if I hadn't seen others without reservations seated before us. I have never experienced anything like this before and it ruined what to this point has been a pleasant stay. I believe in fair reviews and I would like to assume that this worker was simply having a bad day rather than simply being a racist. We were told we could order from the dining room menu, we just couldn't sit in there. She later apologized saying it was a 'misunderstanding'. Shaun served us in the bar and was wonderful. Unfortunately the food wasn't as good with the bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I highly recommend the Omni Riverfront. Close to the French Quarter, Museums, and restaurants. Staff was friendly, professional, and the concierge team of Ren And Tremise is second to none. Ren helped us plan special experiences including ghost and culinary tours and had several restaurant recommendations that only a local would know. The hotel has been recently remodeled, very comfortable and spacious rooms considering the prime location. Easy walk to the quarter, street cars, and all the attractions. Perfect for families or couples who want all New Orleans has to offer but need a bit of distance from some of the late night noise of Bourbon St.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for the honest feedback. Please rest assured that all compliments to staff will be personally delivered. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should we be able to be of assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this Hotel originally as a Wyndham that then changed names prior to our arrival. They honored all our original prices and dates. The hotel is directly across the street from the cruise terminal as we were on back to back cruises. We stayed 2 nights. When we awoke the first morning and looked out the big windows facing the Mississippi river, we saw the tops of the ships located immediately behind the River Walk. This is a long section of shops and restaurants that fronts the river and is adjacent to the cruise terminal itself. The room was very spacious with a pillow top mattress that was one of the best we have ever slept on. Free Wi-fi but no included breakfast. Walking distance to the French Quarter and downtown or the inexpensive trolly system. Friendly staff. No pool or hot tub. Otherwise a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and provided you with excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cleanliness is mediocre at best. It was not shocking but I'm in the industry too and would not let my housekeepers getaway with the lack of attention to detail. LOCATION is phenomenal. Across from outlets and casino and a quick walk to Canal and FQ. Was worth the rate we paid. So there's that. We didn't dine there at all but the bar area looked funky, staff were friendly enough and appeared genuine. The elevators seemed a little dodge and outdated. Maybe just a good cleaning and some polishing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are just over 30 days in to our transition to an Omni Hotel. Although we have made great strides, it is evident that there were several areas where we should have performed better. Please accept our apologies. Please feel free to contact me to assist in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone was amazing from the staff to the visitors. They were really helpful and accommodating. The concierge, Ren was particularly helpful and friendly. Great conversations, recommendations, and people. The hotel was sanitary and nice.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, General Manager at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the great feedback! Please do not hesitate to call on us for assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Riverfront Hotel

Address: 701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Riverfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the Omni Riverfront Hotel is located in the thriving Arts District of New Orleans. The hotel is just steps away from top attractions in the Big Easy, including the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Contemporary Arts Center, and only blocks from the French Quarter. Enjoy modern and luxurious accommodations with a vintage feel when you stay at the Omni Riverfront Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Omni Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.