We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff is first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Riverfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great location, staff is first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I highly recommend the Omni Riverfront. Close to the French Quarter, Museums, and restaurants. Staff was friendly, professional, and the concierge team of Ren And Tremise is second to none. Ren helped us plan special experiences including ghost and culinary tours and had several restaurant recommendations that only a local would know. The hotel has been recently remodeled, very comfortable and spacious rooms considering the prime location. Easy walk to the quarter, street cars, and all the attractions. Perfect for families or couples who want all New Orleans has to offer but need a bit of distance from some of the late night noise of Bourbon St.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the honest feedback. Please rest assured that all compliments to staff will be personally delivered. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should we be able to be of assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this Hotel originally as a Wyndham that then changed names prior to our arrival. They honored all our original prices and dates. The hotel is directly across the street from the cruise terminal as we were on back to back cruises. We stayed 2 nights. When we awoke the first morning and looked out the big windows facing the Mississippi river, we saw the tops of the ships located immediately behind the River Walk. This is a long section of shops and restaurants that fronts the river and is adjacent to the cruise terminal itself. The room was very spacious with a pillow top mattress that was one of the best we have ever slept on. Free Wi-fi but no included breakfast. Walking distance to the French Quarter and downtown or the inexpensive trolly system. Friendly staff. No pool or hot tub. Otherwise a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and provided you with excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cleanliness is mediocre at best. It was not shocking but I'm in the industry too and would not let my housekeepers getaway with the lack of attention to detail. LOCATION is phenomenal. Across from outlets and casino and a quick walk to Canal and FQ. Was worth the rate we paid. So there's that. We didn't dine there at all but the bar area looked funky, staff were friendly enough and appeared genuine. The elevators seemed a little dodge and outdated. Maybe just a good cleaning and some polishing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are just over 30 days in to our transition to an Omni Hotel. Although we have made great strides, it is evident that there were several areas where we should have performed better. Please accept our apologies. Please feel free to contact me to assist in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone was amazing from the staff to the visitors. They were really helpful and accommodating. The concierge, Ren was particularly helpful and friendly. Great conversations, recommendations, and people. The hotel was sanitary and nice.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, General Manager at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the great feedback! Please do not hesitate to call on us for assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in before boarding a cruise or that is a short walk from the madness of the French Quarter, this is the place. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms fresh and new. I have to commend the front desk staff, Avery and Precious were such a great help, friendly, courteous and fun. Ren, the concierge, was AMAZING! It was our first time in NOLA and he gave us recommendations for restaurants, things to see and things to do. He went above and beyond what was expected, has a great sense of humor and was more than knowledgeable of the local area. Now that I have stayed here, there is no other hotel I would stay in while visiting New Orleans. Thank you Omni Riverfront staff for making our vacation so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for the amazing review on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments on staff. Please rest assured that I will pass along all compliments to the appropriate departments. We hope to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed after getting off a cruise and could not be happier with our choice. This hotel is less than one block from the Port and the River Walk (Mall) with food court. Super location near everything. We walked to Saint Patrick Catholic Church for 5:30 Mass on Sunday evening that was beautiful. We walked to the bowling alley for dinner that was ok but not the best. They do not have carry out cups for soft drinks, which was sad.

Front desk was super both for checking in and checking out, super friendly. This hotel was clean and well kept. Our room was facing the river (port) on the sixth floor. I never heard any street noise. The block out curtains blocked out well so we slept an hour pass sunrise. We stayed for one night on a Sunday. We did not have any issues with anything. On Monday morning around 7 am we went for breakfast off the lobby. The breakfast costs too much for what you get. We did have a sit down breakfast with a waiter that ended up being $47 for two people and we tipped well due to excellent service. The food was fantastic. There is not any breakfast food close by until the River Walk would open later around 10 am. We called the bellman and requested a cab, he came up got our luggage and had a cab waiting for us. Super service! Cab to airport $33. There is a charge if you have a car and they charge for WiFi but you.

Room Tip: sixth floor facing river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet O, Executive Assistant at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your most recent feedback on trip advisor. Location is very important and a plus. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm literally sitting in the hotel lobby waiting for the person who made the room reservation because they will not allow me into our room, even though my name is on the reservation as well. They are requesting to hold the room on my credit card as well even though the original reservation already has a card confirmed for payment. I believe this policy is outdated and should be reviewed by the Wyndham group. I can understand if my name was not added to the reservation. I can even justify the front desk agent, just "holding" my credit card for incidentals, but to charge my card temporarily for access to a room that has already been paid for is over the top, incredibly bad customer service. As a reoccurring guest, I believe there are better ways to accommodate guest who arrive early especially if the room is ready for use, instead of having them waiting in the lobby like a loitering pedestrian looking for a resting place. I'm paying to stay in the hotel room , not the hotel lobby. Thumbs down Omni !!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, General Manager at Omni Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I can certainly understand your position. We always want to do whatever possible to accommodate our guests. Unfortunately, credit cards used to make reservations are only used to guarantee the reservation rather than confirmed as the method of payment. The only exception to this is when a credit card authorization form is provided, allowing us to charge the credit card number provided. This policy is in place to protect all credit card holders and, especially, our guests since reservations are made via telephone where credit cards are not physically presented. Many times we offer to temporarily hold a method of payment in an effort to check a guest in and then change the card when the final method of payment is received. Again, I can understand your position and certainly hope that you also understand that we must protect all of our guests and ensure that no one uses their card when not authorized. This is was certainly not the case in your situation however, we are not afforded the opportunity to make exceptions with this policy. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. I certainly hope that you allow us another opportunity in the future. When the time comes for you to return to NOLA please let me know as I would love to personally assist and ensure that we turn this around. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Riverfront Hotel

Address: 701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Riverfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the Omni Riverfront Hotel is located in the thriving Arts District of New Orleans. The hotel is just steps away from top attractions in the Big Easy, including the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Contemporary Arts Center, and only blocks from the French Quarter. Enjoy modern and luxurious accommodations with a vintage feel when you stay at the Omni Riverfront Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.