We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Leave Valuables In Your Room - December, 2012” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #72 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Newnan, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Valuables In Your Room - December, 2012”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was clean, for the most part the staff was friendly and nice. The hotel is conveniently located, a short walk to Riverfront, Hara's and Burbon St. The valet parking in quiet expensive. (I called for my car only once during my stay, the rest of the time it stayed parked) However the only issue that I had and I feel was a big one... each evening I would empty my pockets on the night stand, having a pocket full of change each night I left it there. The fourth evening when I came back to the room, all my change was gone (about 5 to 6 dollars). Not a lot of money, but if the housekeeping staff will steal your change, then they will take anything. To the best of my knowledge, thankfully, I couldn't find anything else missing. I went down to the front desk to report it. The night clerk assured me that he would give the message to the manager. The next morning just before checking out, I went back to the front desk, the manager told me that he was just about to call me. Had he waited any longer, I would have been gone. The best that he offered me was "If I liked, he would give me five dollars to cover my loss", as if I should actually be complaining that one of his staff stole from my room. I was quiet dissapointed that he didn't take this a little more serious. I didn't take his money, I just took a lesson learned. The room didn't have a safe, so if you choose to stay here, be sure not to leave anything valuable in your room.

Room Tip: chose a rom with a safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan-FDManager, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry for not clearly expressing my concern for the circumstances of your stay. We do take such situations seriously, and I have passed on your concerns to both the hotel manager and the executive housekeeper. If you wish to discuss the matter further or offer us the opportunity to regain your goodwill, please don't hesitate to contact myself or the hotel manager at 504-524-8200.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    270
    163
    66
    30
See reviews for
158
248
32
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was very nice and exactly as described. Parking prices were horrendous but we expected that. Location great and staff helpful. Very close to trolley to get to Garden District and French Quarter. Directly across from Mississippi River and Riverwalk. Would have liked a safe and refrigerator but was not available in room.

Room Tip: Did not get to pick the room and our room overlooked the checkin area. Would have been nice to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan-FDManager, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for positive review on TripAdvisor. We are always pleased when we are able to make a guest's stay a memorable one. I will be discussing your suggestions about room preference with the front desk team. We hope to make your next stay with us even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Before heading off on our cruise the previous Sunday, we had a bad experience at another hotel in the area and opted not to book our return night there. We did some looking around and found the Wyndham Riverfront.

It was within walking distance of the French Quarter and the cruise port, which was important since we were not going to have a rental car.

We made a call and verified the rates and asked about early check-in, as we would be arriving from our ship around 10am. They said they couldn’t’ guarantee it but it may be possible.

Upon arriving, we checked in and were told that while, our room wasn’t ready yet, it should be by 1pm and we could check our baggage till then which was great because we planning on doing some shopping anyways.

They called my cell phone at 11:30 to let me know our room was ready. The room was spotless and exactly how it was described. Early check in made our day so much easier that we decided to order room service because we were tired of walking.

The burger was great and the pasta my fiancé ordered was perfect.

The hotel was nice a quiet and the bed very, very comfortable.

We went down to the restaurant for breakfast and again, the food was top notch. They hailed us a cab after breakfast and off to the airport we were.

It was a much better experience than our previous hotel during this trip and will gladly recommend it to others who are looking for something nice, quiet, close to the river and French Quarter and well worth the price. We will be staying there without question the next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan-FDManager, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Wow, thank you for the kind TripAdvisor review! It gives us great pride to hear that all aspects of your experience were so smooth. I have shared your compliments with each departmental staff. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Close to Riverwalk, Harrah's Casino, and Fulton St. with all the great restaurants. Valet parking rates are outrageous, but all the hotels that I stay at in this area are expensive. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan-FDManager, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are happy that you found it so easy to get around from our hotel, and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again on your return visit to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were looking for a hotel near the cruise ship terminal that also gave us access to New Orleans sightseeing. The property was convenient, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we woke up on our second day, we could see our cruise ship parked across the way. A short walk across the street and we were ready to board the boat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan-FDManager, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Wow, thank you for such a glowing TripAdvisor review! I am happy to read that our staff and location helped make your vacation experience a memorable one. I have shared your kind words with the staff, and we would love to hear about your cruise on your return trip to the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans

Address: 701 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Wyndham, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.