We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Beautiful place in the great Garden District. Right on the St. Charles trolley line. Also, walking distance to several nice restaurants. A real bonus was the free off street parking.
Asked for a restaurant recommendation at front desk was sent to Superior Seafood, an easy walk down St. Charles, an outstanding place.
If you want a bit less craziness than the French Quarter plus free parking and walking distance to loads of nice places you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the building may be quieter due to trolley in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    147
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
142
111
31
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

When planning to visit relatives in a Houston, my wife and I decided to plan our first visit to New Orleans. As we have recently enjoyed staying at a Hampton Inn in Indianapolis and Orlando we decided on the most central Hampton of the three available. The location of this hotel is in the Garden District of New Orleans. Very nice quiet location. This is the only location with free parking. The street car line is right out the front doors. $3.00 gives you unlimited rides on all of the three street car lines. A few blocks south were several blocks of an artsy type area with some very nice eating establishments. Also nearby is an old city cemetery. For the few days we were there, we enjoyed the breakfast. Always well stocked and fresh. The staff was more than friendly and all very helpful in answering our questions. Rooms were smaller but very clean. The absolute best shower ever. Lots of hot water and the best Waterpik nozzle. Beds were as comfortable as home. Will stay there again on our next visit to N.O.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Convenient, affordable, and comfortable. The staff was really helpful. The lobby and outdoor area was nice and a great place to have breakfast in the morning. My room was quiet and comfortable. The trolly was under construction, but if you are looking for a convenient place in the Garden District, I highly recommend the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was traveling with a friend - we found this wonderful hotel at the last minute and what a find. The lobby is tastefully decorated and very spacious. I loved the large separate "living room" to the left as you enter the hotel - a great place to unwind and relax with a book or just visit.
In the late afternoon they set up a small sampling of cheese, crackers and grapes. They have iced tea and hot beverages as well.

The breakfast was fairly typical but very nicely prepared. In many hotels you often get eggs and such that have been "nuked" beyond tasting like food. The spacious lobby allows for plenty of seating also.

Our room wasn't really large, but it was nicely appointed and every clean. And, the bed and linens were very comfortable.

I will absolutely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: A Best Western hotel is located next door and there is a restaurant on the corner. Within a few bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My Family and I stayed at this property 4-21-14 to 4-26-14. We arrived at the front desk and was treated very rudely by an employee name Jasmin. No Hello, no welcome, no greeting at all. She just stated "your id and credit card", verified my name and gave me keys. She told us where to park and we left. A couple days later my key wasn't working to I went to the front desk and she was on duty. I told her my key didn't work and she promptly blamed me for damaging it. She never looked at me while she was fixing the key card. I have never been treated so rudely at a hotel in my life. If I were her manager, she would be terminated.

One of the reasons we booked this particular hotel is the street car stop is right in front. No one cared to tell us St. Charles is under construction and you have to walk about 3-4 very long blocks, catch a city bus to the next street car stop, get off, wait for the street car to pick you up. That's about a 45-60 minute process. While on the public bus I got to listen to a local talk about how he hated working for the "white rich B's"...Nice!! I understand this has nothing to do with the Hampton other than I would have liked to know before I booked about the street car/construction situation. I would have chosen another location.

My last CON are the beds. The hotel uses bottom of the line mattress. They are junk. Very disappointing for a Hilton branded hotel. I'm not a picky person but these are bad.

Now for the PROS
Our room was very clean when we checked in and every day afterward. The entire property is kept very clean.

All employees, except for Jasmin were very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast every morning was plentiful. You don't have to wake up early so you get food. They keep it stocked until 10 am. Plenty of variety. Nice quality food.

Cheese, crackers, and grapes in the afternoon is also provided. The pepper jack was my fav.

Overall, we would stay again providing the construction is complete and Jasmin is no longer an employee. I would call and ask before making a reservation. Hopefully, the beds will be upgraded. Working in customer service myself, I know what is expected and Jasmin is not providing it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, GA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We've stayed in the French Quarter and it was too much. Too many people and the room wasn't great. In this area, you can walk to shops, resturants, etc. and won't feel like just another body. Don't waste you time or money staying in "The Quarter", this is a lovely area where you can relax, refresh and be on your way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabank
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Another wonderful stay. Took my family of 10 to New Orleans for Jazz Fest. How nice it was to come back to such a nice hotel when you are so tired. There is always flavored water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and all kinds o fresh fruit in the lobby 24 hours a day. Two of my grandchildren go to college there and they were very impressed with the location and service. The breakfast was great as well as the rooms. Everyone was so nice. My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we visit NO.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Address: 3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by southern mansions with lush landscapes in the historic Garden District, this Hampton Inn masterfully blends old-world charm with modern conveniences. Just steps from the St. Charles Streetcar line, you can enjoy a classic hotel just steps away from downtown and close enough to experience the world-famous music, art, and cuisine.The closest hotel near Tulane and Loyola Universities, parents can stay close when they visit students, attend alumni meetings, or enjoy special on-campus events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.