We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frill, yet everything you might need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
San Lorenzo, United States
1 review
“No Frill, yet everything you might need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very clean, comfortable room and lobby area. Trolley stops practically at front door. Sits more on the edge of garden district, so need to be aware of your surroundings when out & about, just as in any city area. Pleasant staff. No onsite restaurant or room service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    137
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
133
100
28
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast was of high quality and tasty. Free parking and proximity to the French Quarter and Uptown New Orleans was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

In sum, we'd be back; it's a standard inn without any fancy frills and serves its purpose well. It takes about 25 minutes to get here (by cab) from the airport.

Pros:

Pleasant Staff; very willing to help out
Honored request to be placed in a quiet location within the hotel
It's great to have breakfast, snacks, and water available at all times; much better than having to fork over $5 for a bottle of water as we've had to do in places like Maui and Vegas
Easy check-out procedure
Good location; streetcar is right outside the front door.
Fridge and microwave in each room
Secure; front door locks at 10, elevator won't function unless you swipe a room key
Quiet neighborhood; away from the bustle of the French Quarter, if that is what you are looking for
Very clean room
Proximity to tours/Commander's Palace/Magazine Street shops
Nice courtyard/small pool if you just want to relax after a long day of walking
Nice market nearby (reminded us a bit of Whole foods)

Cons:

No safe in room; standard room is small, average
Not the safest area to trek about in if you're female and alone/with other women after dark. We are from the Bay Area/city and still felt the area was a bit sketchy at night; taking the streetcar in the dark is fine, but you have to be careful (cabs are also an option). If you plan to be out and about late at night, it might be best to stay in the French Quarter instead of the Garden District.
No restaurant on site, although there is one at the Best Western next door
Vending machines consistently out of water, although there was always a dispenser/cups downstairs

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator and toward the back of the hotel; you can hear the streetcar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is definitely unique to the Hampton hotel brand! My friends and I came down for a huge charity event in New Orleans over the weekend and must brag about this place. From the moment you arrive through the French doors from the grand entrance on St. Charles Avenue in New Orleans you are given an authentic Southern Hospitality environment that screams "Welcome Home". Being a seasoned traveler and it being my first time staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites in New Orleans, this lobby at this hotel reallyy impressed me from the moment I stepped through the doors. I love loved the antiques. Katie, the guest service agent made our experience over the weekend GREAT! Thank-you Katie for your exceptional service and for accommodating us all. We definitely will be staying here again if we visit New Orleans again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Trolley line in front, restaurant next door, grocery store down the block and easy walk to Magazine street. I especially enjoyed the pool area after a long day of walking. Only downside was the St. Charles line was under repair and I could not continue on from the hotel to the zoo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Choose Hilton properties when possible and was glad to find one close to Tulane for a campus visit. staff friendly and welcoming, it was a good spot for whichever direction we needed to go. nice area, felt safe, will be even better when the street car line is finished closer to Audobon Park and Tulane. would definitely stay at this Hampton again if in area. Lots of activity in the neighborhood and plenty of things to see and do in the area, outside of the french quarter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was in New Orleans to play in a national amateur tennis tournament, and chose the Hampton Inn for its proximity to the New Orleans Lawn Tennis Club. The hotel did not disappoint. It was attractive, staffed by upbeat and friendly personnel, offered free (and secure) parking, and had nice rooms with fridge, microwave and HDTV.
Located in the beautiful Garden District, it offered a perspective of the city far different from the French Quarter. There were many eateries nearby including the Superior Grill next door, which offered everything from burgers to Tex-Mex, to ribs.
My stay did have one hiccup: the first room that I got had an unpleasant, moldy smell (possibly coming from the A/C unit) that played havoc with my allergies. I was able to switch with no problem, and my new room was fine. I strongly recommend this property--just stay away from room 310!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Address: 3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by southern mansions with lush landscapes in the historic Garden District, this Hampton Inn masterfully blends old-world charm with modern conveniences. Just steps from the St. Charles Streetcar line, you can enjoy a classic hotel just steps away from downtown and close enough to experience the world-famous music, art, and cuisine.The closest hotel near Tulane and Loyola Universities, parents can stay close when they visit students, attend alumni meetings, or enjoy special on-campus events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.