We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located with FREE parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #25 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucker, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Conveniently located with FREE parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My elderly father and I recently spent three nights here while visiting New Orleans. While the breakfast provided is good, there aren't many choices. It's kind of a take it or leave it deal. The rooms are well maintained, the staff is very friendly and helpful (especially Amy. Hi, Amy!!!), and the hotel is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue with free parking, unlike the snootier downtown hotels that also charge an arm and a leg for daily parking. Thanks, Hampton Inn and thanks, Amy!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    164
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
166
128
32
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the entire family and wedding party on the grooms side staying here. Everyone was satisfied. I had two suites secured for the my son and myself and wife with a balcony. Only two in the hotel, Rooms 220 and 226 and the hotel kept them for us and it was divine. A most memorable stay for a hectic weekend. Just took the streetcar to the French Quarter. Love New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rm 220 or 226 suites. Just divine with small balcony. We had them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Love this location. We usually stay in the French Quarter, but needed to be closer to Audubon Park for our latest trip. This Hampton Inn was convenient, clean, and safe. We stayed for four nights, and enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The 5 star value comes from the free, secure parking, which I did not think existed in New Orleans!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a good experience at this motel. Very clean and safe. Really like the card feature in the elevator for getting up to your room. They have coffee all day and crackers and cheese at night which was a nice touch. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012. After reading suggestions from others on Trip Advisor, we got a room on the sixth floor away from the street. Not much of a view, but I recommend the top floor because at least you look over the roof of the nearby building instead of into their windows. Very nice, spacious room; very comfortable and very quiet (which is extremely important as I'm a light sleeper). An unexpected surprise was the breakfast buffet (included in room rate)--plentiful food and good variety served in the downstairs lobby area which was quite spacious. Apples and other fruits are available for the taking all day long. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Price was very easy on the budget, and the location was wonderful (only a few steps to the streetcar line). I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great hotel, clean and safe neighborhood. We booked a room the night before our cruise and took the park and cruise package. We felt our car was safe in their gated parking lot. After our cruise we had no problem getting our luggage to the car and left quickly. The hotel is very nice and the staff was very helpful in checking us in, answering any questions and calling us a cab the morning of our cruise. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Conveniently located along the trolley route (about a one-block walk up the street to the next trolley stop), this hotel is nice enough (average) but does not have an on-site restaurant or bar and has rooms that are average in decor and size. Parking is free in the lot behind the hotel, which is a nice feature. Cell phone signal is oddly very poor in the rooms, although Internet coverage is adequate. The pool is very small, really gets overcrowded if more than just a few people are using it at once. Continental breakfast is average at best. We have been staying here when we come to visit our daughter who goes to Tulane, but, because of the cost of the room in relation to the quality of it etc., we will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Address: 3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by southern mansions with lush landscapes in the historic Garden District, this Hampton Inn masterfully blends old-world charm with modern conveniences. Just steps from the St. Charles Streetcar line, you can enjoy a classic hotel just steps away from downtown and close enough to experience the world-famous music, art, and cuisine.The closest hotel near Tulane and Loyola Universities, parents can stay close when they visit students, attend alumni meetings, or enjoy special on-campus events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.