We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Cruising!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best for Cruising!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is one of the best options if you are cruising from New Orleans. They offer free parking the entire length of your stay, and it's just a $14 taxi ride (saves you around $60 bucks total). Great breakfast and comfy rooms in the historic Garden District.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    148
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
143
111
31
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about the benefits of staying here: free parking, wi-fi, nice staff, a pool, breakfast, cool drinks and a quiet location right on the streetcar. Just don't expect the polish of newer Hampton Inns. The rooms are on the small side and A/C systems are a little noisy. But it's a good value and did I mention free parking?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were in town for a cruise so spent 1 night in this hotel. We stayed after we cruised, They allowed us to leave our car in the lot while we were gone. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, we needed to print our cruise documents and they allowed us to do so. We got into town around 11am after our cruise and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel while we grabbed lunch. They called us about 2 hours later letting us know our room was ready, which was nice. It's right besides the St. Charles Street car and takes you right to the french quarter.

It was a great location, and the rooms were nice, we would definitely stay again if we were in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I am always pleased with a stay at a Hampton Inn but this Hampton was unique. It was previously a home and the lobby was large and very attractive. The AC was turned down too low and was uncomfortably cold but thankfully there is an outdoor patio area which is where we wanted to be anyway. It was nicely landscaped, had a a small lap pool and high quality comfortable furniture. The only drawback was that smoking was allowed on the patio which sent me back to my room a few times.
The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of food including some nutritious offerings such as bran cereal, fruit cocktail and oatmeal (and plenty of less healthy options as well such muffins and waffles). They also had oranges, apples and bananas that were available 24/7. They also had cold lemon infused water out all the time which was very welcome after sightseeing in the warm weather. In the late afternoon they put out cheese, crackers and grapes.
The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. In addition to the free in room wireless they have two computers in the lobby and one of them has a printer.
The trolley stop is just a few steps away from the front door. There is also a good place to get very good salads, sandwiches and milk shakes a few blocks away (The Milk Bar on Delachaise). The best way to enjoy them is back on the patio at the Hampton!
Most rooms are on the sides of the building which do not afford good views. But with such a great patio and so much to do in NO this did not matter to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were in town for a cruise so spent 1 night in this hotel. I can't say enough good things about it. We got into town at 11:30 am and were able to check into one of our rooms to put our luggage in which was awesome since it was so early. We then parked in the parking lot out back and got right on the Trolley in front of the hotel.

It was a great location, the breakfast was good, the rooms were nice, we would definitely stay again if we were in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calistoga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is a good find in a busy town like New Orleans. Our family consisting of 5 adults spent 3 nights there. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast good for a formula breakfast and the location is great. The St. Charles Street trolley line is just a few steps away, Magazine Street and the Garden District retail/ restaurant district only a few blocks away. The staff were pleasant and helpful and when we were there, it appeared that there were various wedding and business groups. Often when a hotel is busy, the help can be rude or not accommodating, not so in this case. All told, this was a wonderful location on our first visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks toward downtown. At night you can see the Mercedes-Benz dome with it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great location. The trolley car is right out front. We stayed recently to take our 3yr old to the Zoo and Aquarium. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good in the lobby. Make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits, etc. Helpful and friendly staff. I also liked how you have to have your room key to operate the elevator. We will definitely stay there again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Address: 3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by southern mansions with lush landscapes in the historic Garden District, this Hampton Inn masterfully blends old-world charm with modern conveniences. Just steps from the St. Charles Streetcar line, you can enjoy a classic hotel just steps away from downtown and close enough to experience the world-famous music, art, and cuisine.The closest hotel near Tulane and Loyola Universities, parents can stay close when they visit students, attend alumni meetings, or enjoy special on-campus events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.