We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Hollywood, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best small hotel in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fantastic stay!! My family booked multiple rooms for my brother's wedding which took place nearby. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel is lovely, clean, efficient and has a friendly staff. The location is perfect. The St. Charles Streetcar passes directly in front of the hotel so you are 10 minutes from both the universities/Audubon Park and downtown/French Quarter. The rates are more than reasonable for the location and include free breakfast, free wi-fi, and free parking (if by chance you have a car). Can't be beat!! My immediate family has three small children and the hotel was just fine for a family with children (esp. with the free breakfast). If you are looking for a hotel with valet service, 5 star restaurants and over the top amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking to spend a few simple days touring a great city and having a clean, cozy place to rest your head each night, this is the one. Perfect for potential Loyola/Tulane/Xavier students who are looking to get a feel for the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    117
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
99
76
23
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This is the BEST place to stay in the area. Right on the trolly line to the French Quarter, Tulane, Audubon Park and the Garden District it's a short drive to the Zoo, Children's Hospital and the Super Dome. It's clean, the staff is excellent and very helpful, the breakfast is good and Superior Grill is right next door and New Orleans Seafood is four blocks away for quick meals. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights last week and were very pleased. Staff were very friendly and helpful, lobby was nice and the room was clean, in good repair with a very comfortable bed.

The streetcar stops right in front of the hotel, so it was very convenient to catch it to the French Quarter. One thing I learned about the streetcar was that if you have to wait a while for one to come, you're going to make a lot of stops on the way. We waited for a second one to come, when we could, and took that one with less stops.

There's a Rite Aid just a block away that carries most everything you need. I even bough some beer there to have in the room.

I'd rate this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hampton Inn is right in the heart of the Garden District of New Orleans. It's very residential feeling and safe. We had a great view of the city (from the higher floors) and also of the trolley line on St. Charles. There were Mardi Gras beads hanging from the trees all up and down the street which was really fun. The room was generous in size and the breakfast was plentiful. Only glitch, a noisy fridge, but we just unplugged it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference. I was placed in a room next to the soda machine and elevator on the fifth floor that was very noisy. I asked for another room. It was still extremely loud. When I called they said due to the rate I was paying these were the only rooms available. This was obviously not true due to my coworkers having rooms located far from the elevator. The room was clean and the breakfast was good, but the man I spoke with was not helpful and seemed to be lying. The other staff was helpful though.

Room Tip: Don't stay on low numbers on the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great hotel - quiet when you want quiet. Very very clean. Good free breakfast. Fruit & cheese in evening. Beverages anytime. Streetcar at front door. Secured parking. Day pass for streetcar till 4:00 A.M is only $3.00 per person anywhere. Be sure to take city tour, visit the excellent restaurants, and the WWII museum - the movie there is a little pricy but will knock your socks off! The hotel staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Any room is good. Handicap rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed for three nights and did not encounter any problems. The breakfast was fine as expected for a 'free breakfast'. Rooms were clean. Very handy for the trolley which we used a couple of times to go to the French Quarter. Within walking distance to the main part of the Garden District. Plenty of parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn
Address: 3626 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by southern mansions with lush landscapes in the historic Garden District, this Hampton Inn masterfully blends old-world charm with modern conveniences. Just steps from the St. Charles Streetcar line, you can enjoy a classic hotel just steps away from downtown and close enough to experience the world-famous music, art, and cuisine.The closest hotel near Tulane and Loyola Universities, parents can stay close when they visit students, attend alumni meetings, or enjoy special on-campus events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.