We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic amenities, decent prices bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Basic amenities, decent prices bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking for an affordable place to stumble back to after a night out in New Orleans, this hotel is fine. Don't expect anything great, but it's a good option for just a bed and a shower.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. But that's about it.

We asked for a nonsmoking room and received that, but whoever was in it before had been smoking in it. The cleaning staff obviously didn't do much to get the smell out. There was also hair and dirt in the corner of our bathroom. Lots of paint chipping off the walls. But the bed and floors seemed clean.

It's about an eight block walk to Jackson square and bourbon street. Not bad, but there are definitely closer hotels to the action. About a block from Harrahs.

Overall, if you're trying to save money, this is a good hotel. If you're looking for anything else, seek other places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    79
    61
    50
See reviews for
40
106
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just visited NOLA over Mother Day weekend this hotel was really great the staff was lovely especially Andrew at the bar and Angelle in the front desk. The room was very authenic to NOLA. I would love to return but none of the rooms have a frigde or microwave that was the only drawback with the portion sizes you get in NOLA you definately need a fridge. We ended up throwing away a lot of good food. The morning breakfast was just OK nothing special. Overall my stay was pleasent.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a window. AC is not that great in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent four nights in this old coffee warehouse. The walls exposed the old town bricks and charm of New Orleans. Was disappointed in the staff's attitude to the guests however, the "continental Breakfast," left MUCH to be desired. Once they run out of anything, you're told "That's all we have!" Nothing more came out! Coffee was NOT served until 7:00 am by that time most people had left the building. We lost power for about four hours, due to an underground transformer fire - and the hotel staff did provide escorts down from the third & fourth floors. A real adventure. Some of the staff really tried to be helpful - but others? Bathroom had mold in grout. Sheets were NOT changed daily. All-in-all, we will NOT be returning. Some rooms did NOT have a window, or ceiling fans..
A representative of the Hotel DID call us afterwards and made offers to one of their other establishments, but we declined.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Once again The Ambassador Hotel would like to thank you and your group for visiting New Orleans! The Ambassador is indeed close to the downtown area and all its many attractions.Steps to Harrah's Casino as well as the French Quarter. We love seeing your group return to us every week!! We are in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District and the hotel features all its original elements of its intended use as a coffee warehouse. The lite continental breakfast is served daily from 7:30am-9:30am. Upon request The breakfast attendant did open at 7am to accommodate guest that wanted to enjoy a hot cup of coffee!!. Regarding the power outage,it was unfortunate that an underground fire that occurred 5 blocks from the hotel managed to shut the entire downtown area down for 4-6 hours but Our entire staff was dedicated to escorting every guest to where they desired to be. It indeed was an adventure for us all! A member of management did call to offer return accommodations at one of Our many properties for complete satisfaction and We will continue to Strive for 5! We appreciate your feed back and Thank You once again for visiting The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. Please Give Us a call at 1-800-455-3417
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

visited new orleans for jazz festival we stayed 5 nights in ambassador hotel best thing about hotel is location only 5/10 m walk to canal street where there are lots of bars shops ect.The hotel itself is ok but the breakfast is a joke conntinental its states fair enough bread cakes serial odd day hard boiled overcooked eggs we ate breakfast out a couple of times it really was sub standard food scale 1 to 10 a 3 staff in hotel bit on the rude side not at all warm and welcoming at any time just seemed to be there because that was there job to be there not at all impressed there is a bar within hotel grounds girl behind bar first night we arrived not very pleasant at all rather rude if anything although manager on another occasion seemed a nice fella very friendly and chatty.We ate one night in bar as we couldnt get a cab as it was raining very heaverly 2 of us ate pizzas which were ok but my son ordered chicken gumbo which turned up 20minutes after our food was no more than a chicken soup he ate couple of mouthfulls and complained it was discusting he was not charged for it must say rooms in hotel very spacious no complaints there.must say new orleans fell a bit short of my expectations especcially the food in bars and resturants definatly would only return to new orleans if billy joel was playing would not return to ambassador hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A great four star hotel basically accross the street from Harrah's Casino, and a 10 minute stroll to Bourbon Street. Ask for a room with the exposed brick walls, as this is a converted warehouse, otherwise you will get a standqard room, which is very nice, but without the ambience. They serve a very basic continental breakfast, and gave me 1/2 off on the valet parking ( ended up $16 per nite-cheap by N.O.stds.).
The bedrooms were really nice, and it had a large bathroom. The staff was accomodating, too. They do throw a $9.95 fee to the bill to cover wifi, breakfast, workout room, etc. Kind a of cheesy, as I would rather it be in the price of the room.
But, overall a great hotel for price, location, value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the exposed brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank You so much for Your recent visit to New Orleans! We are delighted that You enjoyed Your stay at the World Famous Ambassador Hotel. The Ambassador Hotel is located in a warehouse conversion building dating 1854 and retains all the flavor of its original use, including original hardwood floors that may slant in places, brick and beam construction, high ceilings and ceiling fans.When you are ready to return to New Orleans feel free to contact Us directly to ensure the best rates possible. " We strive for 5"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The work out room is perfect. The computer room was helpful. The concierge lady is super nice that lives by the point. The rooms are nice. Great value and super clean and comfy. The front desk lady made me feel confident about my reservation that was made over the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to our city. Our Front Office Manager, Patrick Wilson spends many hours training and re-training his team members in order to provide the best of service possible and We are pleased the Front desk agent was able to make your stay enjoyable. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are 100% dedicated to our guests' complete enjoyment. "We strive for 5".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Ambassador about a week ago and I must say my stay was the best I have ever had. The front desk staff was very helpful especially Elray Adams. He made me feel like I was in my own home. He always called me by name which was very professional. But the highlight of my stay was the two valets Jake and Chris these two work as a team all the time and they always knew the best places to go for food and entertainment, these two gentlemen are the reason why I never had a dull moment. If you plan on going to New Orleans stay at the Ambassador and ask for these three guys and I promise you will not be disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: Room 320 has a very nice floor plan and a amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
First, I want to thank you for your feedback. The Ambassador Hotel is thrilled that Your stay was awesome! We want to thank you for choosing us to accommodate Your needs while exploring this wonderful city. If ever in the city again We would love to provide hotel arrangements for you and your family! Give us a call to make your return reservations 1-800-455-3417 "We strive for 5"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.