We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Hotel.... Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Windsor Locks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An OK Hotel.... Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel is old Coffee Warehouse which added charm ... large rooms, exposed beams, brick walls and sloping floors. Public areas were clean and nicely decorated. Hotel staff was friendly. Rooms were marginally clean with poor shower operation. Our room was near a small street where dumpsters were emptied at 3:00am ... bang.. bang ...bang. Some rooms are interior with no windows. Beds were comfortable. A $9.95 "Amenities Charge" was added for each day to cover such things as gym, WiFi and contentinal breakfast. Contentinal breakfast was fair to poor. No hot food, egg station or meat. Did have coffee, tea, juice, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, toast (no bagels or english muffins), store bought mini muffins and fruit bowl with apples, oranges and bananas. Concerige was friendly but not particularly informative. Located just outside of the French Quarter and a few blocks from the Trolley made it convenient to get around without a car. A couple of restaurants nearby were very good (Mother's and Lucy's). Bottom line ... no great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask if it's an interior room with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank You for your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel in New Orleans. We appreciate all feedback from our Guest so proper steps can be taken to improve Guest satisfaction. The Ambassador Hotel does offer a lite continental breakfast which consist of a variety of muffins, pastries, assorted cereals, hard boiled eggs, milk coffee and juices, just enough to get the day started! I am glad you found your room to be spacious and beds to be comfortable. I want to also apologize for the noise that came from the garbage truck although we have no control of the pick up time. If you ever decide to visit New Orleans in the future please give us a call for complete satisfaction. "We strive for 5"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    90
    71
    65
See reviews for
51
125
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here last 4th of July weekend, everything was fine until I got home and realized they over charged me. When I called the hotel, I spoke to the GM and he told me I stayed longer than my reservation. After I proved I wasn't even in New Orleans, he still wouldn't budge. I had to get my bank involved and finally got my money back. Fair warning. If you stay here, watch your wallet.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to our city. The Ambassador Hotel is located in a warehouse conversion buillding dating 1854 and retains all the flavor of its original use, including original hardwood floors that may slant in places, brick and beam construction, high ceilings and ceiling fans. Unfortunately You booked through a pre-paid 3rd party website for your stay. The Ambassador Hotel had no part in charging or refunding funds. When you are ready to return to New Orleans feel free to contact Us directly to ensure the best rates possible"We strive for 5"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were close to the convention center, Harrah's, restaurants and entertainment. Love the old N.O. feel of the place with exposed brick and old hardwood flooring. The one down side is that the rooms are not very sound proof. We had noisy neighbors our first evening, but the rest of our stay was pleasant. The staff is very approachable and have customer service down. Easy walking distance to most downtown attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHotel535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I thank you for your comments and sharing the "greatness" of our location. We are truely in the best location for anything you want to do in New Orleans. Walking distance to all attractions and entertainment for all ages. From the Aquarium to the Casino we are where you want to be! I do apologize for the noisy neighbors and We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel so We can ensure complete satisfaction. To make your return reservations please contact us at 1-800-455-3417
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel over Easter weekend. The Ambassador Hotel has a good location within easy walking distance to just about anywhere you would like to go in NOLA. This hotel is built in the old coffee warehouses. It is a bit quirky in its layout, but it is very charming. We had a wonderful room with huge window overlooking a surprisingly quiet street. The room had original old hardwood floors, lovely crown molding and exposed brick walls. It was clean and fairly spacious. One of the front desk clerks, Patrick, went out of his way to show us several rooms to insure we had one we felt most comfortable in. He was very friendly and professional. We came with a large group of friends in town for the Crescent City run, visit the city and see the Easter Parades. The hotel was nice, the weather was great, the food was amazing and we saw the last of three parades before the rain came. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ask before you take a room site unseen. Some interior rooms either have no window or the small wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Co
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights for the price it was a good buy. The rooms were large and clean, the exposed brick and hardwood floors definitely give the place some character. Our main interest were the WWII museum and the History of the Confederacy Museum which are close by. Other positives were the proximity to Harrah's and the French Quarter as well as Borbon Street. We will be back to city soon and we will stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is nicely located, close to Canal Street with trolly stops and entrance to the French Quarter. It is also just 2 blocks from the Riverwalk. The area is known as the warehouse district, but it does offer several nice restaurants and places to go in for a drink; the area is worth checking out. The hotel itself is an old hotel, with old brick walls and all the adaptations it takes to make on old structure useable in modern times and I think they have done and excellent job of this. Last, the hotel staff is wonderful! They were professional and courteous and really fun to talk to.
One thing that the hotel needs to update are the mattresses; they not very comfortable and actually a little hard. Also, the hardwood floors are beautiful and I love them but they are slick so bring some type of footwear for the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for five days over Mardi Gras/ Fat Tuesday in 2013. I was terrified because I did read a lot of reviews before tearing the hotel apart. I stuck to my guns - always believing there's only a certain type of person that writes online reviews - the unpleasables. I was right - there was absolutley nothing wrong with this hotel - and the price was very low for this area. All late twenty somethings who went - can easily walk to all of the attractions, french quarter, bourbon street, etc. One of the parades actually went directly in front of the hotel which was a lot of fun. We did have to call twice to get a few extra pillows, our check-in was 30 minutes behind, and the sheets were very thin - but nothing out of the ordinary or that a normal person cannot sacrifice for the prices they are offering in this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note! We are currently undergoing a remodel! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.