We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here - Dirty Hotel-Rooms and Unpleasant Front-Desk Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Palo Alto, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here - Dirty Hotel-Rooms and Unpleasant Front-Desk Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at the Ambassador Hotel in New Orleans in January 2013 for a conference. Be aware that they charge a "Resort Fee" of $10 which is supposed to provide you with free wi-fi Internet access in every room. The wi-fi services, however, was not available and 'broken down" as informed by the front-desk for two entire days. Called the the front-desk and we were informed that the wi-fi was not working and that it should be back up "in a couple of minutes." After several hours, service was still not back up. and upon calling the front-desk, we were give the same message that service should be back up "in a couple of minutes." These "couple of minutes" lasted for 48 hours. The breakfast is quite limited. Overall, this is not a "resort" to be charging guests $10 a day, they should provide the services included in this fee, such as internet service, which was lacking for half of hour stay, and the breakfast should be something worthwhile.

Furthermore, although we made a reservation for a deluxe room, we were provided a room with no proper bathtub or shower, and a view of three enclosed walls. When we informed them of this discrepancy, we we informed that no other room was available at the hotel. Overall poor service and not worth even the low rates that this hotel charges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    90
    71
    65
See reviews for
51
125
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Hotel appear to be very nice until we got to our room -- The lobby is nice and so is the staff.....but wait when we got to our room, I felt like we were at motel 6 --- so disappointed! Can you say in need of an update and renovation. This is a historic hotel.....the floor was dirty with dust and hair everywhere....the bathroom was just plain and the tub was stained not to mention the towels need to be tossed out! I did like the brick walls in the room but this hotel is in need of some big upgrades. the good thing it is very close to very thing and we parked the car and walked. The front desk was helpful in helping us get a swamp tour at the last minute and we were able to get two for the price of one.

Room Tip: Don't let the internet pictures fool you......trust the reviews until you see "we have reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a better location, and since its outside the French Quarter, very reasonable rate. Walked everywhere for the 3 days we were there. Mardi Gras parades ended at the corner. Bring earplugs . . . it's a converted warehouse so sound insulation is not the best. Best Bloody Mary's we had on the vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Immediately at check-in, my Mother & I were told we had to pay $10 for our FREE BREAKFAST & WIFI! Our 1st room had a dirty washcloth hanging in the shower! Our 2nd room (right next door) had dirty sheets, toenails, & ASHES on the beds! The staff was polite; however, the establishment is simply dirty! Breakfast (7:30a-9:30a) WAS NOT READY AT 8a! MY ADVICE: STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the building; otherwise, you will be looking at garbage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been coming to NOLA for years now and I always have leaned towards the Ambassador when looking for places to stay.. For one thing, location location location! Close enough to walk to all of the major attractions (without having to pay the premium as you do at other hotels). Next for me is the hotel itself. It's a quirky, old NOLA boutique hotel. From the wrought iron beds to the creaky wooden floors, this place exudes history and comfort!

Room Tip: There are different sized doubles here.. Make sure to ask for one of the larger ones and you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! It reminded me of old school with class! Room was great and spacious, bed was large and comfy! The front desk staff was friendly and happy! I think this hotel has a lot of neat history to it and if you get the chance to hear the story def ask the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Be aware, this is not a boutique hotel: it is a fake restored warehouse building, the only original part is probably the flooring...
We booked a double room with two queens: the room is noisy, extremely dirty, with a tiny nasty bathroom with hair on the sink, in the bathtub and on floor- it looks like a dirty motel bathroom-, with a glass door with venetian blind. We stayed there for 2 nights, once the room was not cleaned up, we had no clean towels, no bathrobe and ,as we asked the front desk, the hotel staff was incredibly rude and unpleasant.
We chose this hotel because of the charming description from their website, but it is totally not true, it was simply an horrible and expensive experience.
Considering the high price, this is totally unacceptable.
The complimentary breakfast is served in a filthy room, with just some mucky tables. Continental breakfast is minimal, just toasts and coffee, what a shame!
the only point is that it is very close to the French Quarter and the cruise port, so you could not have a car to move around.

Room Tip: some rooms have a glass main door and some windows directly facing the corridor...very annoying and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note! We are currently undergoing a remodel! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.