We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was one of the only affordable hotels left when we tried to book a last minute trip to Jazz Fest in May. The location was great for walking to the French Quarter, or hailing a cab to other areas in NOLA. Had no issues with the hotel, and would stay there again for the price.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you! for the kindd words regarding your stay at The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. We are pleased that you took the time to review us several months after departing. We are gratified that The Ambassador Hotel family left a good impression that lasted long after your stay. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is a French Quarter Hotel located in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District...near all the great sights...French Quarter, New Orleans Streetcars, Harrah's Casino, Mercedes Benz Superdome...every reason you visit. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 in order to visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    121
    90
    71
    65
See reviews for
51
124
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and was very satisfied with it. The hotel is a former coffee factory if im not mistaken, has nice exposed brick and comfortable rooms. The only thing about this place is that it is not located in the quarter (its about 4 blocks out) so if your looking to party on bourbon every night you might have to stumble home for about 10-15 minutes to get back to your room. right across the street is world famous "mothers" restaurant so you can get a nice sandwich and beat the lines since you are so close. There is also a bar downstairs where you can grab yourself an abita and a 2 go cup :). Overall its a very nice hotel but i prefer to stay in the quarter just because its closer to the action.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to the BIg Easy! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter Hotel in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District, located right where you want to be...steps from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, Mercedes Benz Superdome, New Orleans Arena...every thing you come to New Orleans for. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are 100 % dedicated to your satisfaction. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return reservations and thanks again for choosing The Ambassador Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moody, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Loved this hotel. The rooms were sized right for 2 people and lovely to look at. Wooden floors and original structures from when it was a coffee warehouse. Front desk was very helpful as well. Worth the price as it's a quick walk to the French Quarter or a $6 cab ride. Also less than a block from Harrah's if you like to gamble!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassador Hotel is right in the heart of New Orleans and its sights..the reason you visit, Harrah's Casino, steps from the French Quarter and famous New Orleans Streetcars, National World War 2, Mercedes Benz Superdome and more. The Ambassador Hotel family takes pride and pleasure in greeting and serving our guests from the moment they enter our doors. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return reservations,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMPANO BEACH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at quite a few different hotels in New Orleans over the years... and I really liked the Ambassador very much... if you are looking for all of the ammenities, room service, turn down service etc... this is not your place...go to the Ritz Carlton and pay $400.00 per night. I found the hotel to have old world charm... the front desk staff was very friendly...My room looked JUST like the one on the Hotels web page... it was very clean, 2 bedswith wrought iron frames,exposed brick...the beds were not the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel...but not bad... the lighting in the bathroom was rather dim... but overall, I really liked the hotel and would definately stay again....hey...I don't know about you, but when I'm in New Orleans, I'm out the door early and back late...$85.00 per night is a steal...definately recommend for folks who are not ultra picky and high maintenance... but for folks who appreciate off beat charm and elegance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent stay in the BIg Easy. The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District. The Ambassador Hotel is convenientlylocated by all of the attractions that make New Orleans a great American city....steps from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, National World War II Museum, famous New Orleans streetcars all within reach. The Ambassador Hotel family is pleased to welcome each guest to their home away from home with a warm greeting and a friendly, familiar smile. The Ambassador Hotel has completed a complete refurbishment that includes new bedding, pillows, sheet sets, blankets and comforters as well as new Sealy Hotel Firm mattresses throughout 100% of the hotel. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are 100% dedicated to each guests' satisfaction. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Cant figure out what I'm paying for. My mattress is hard and covered in plastic. Sheets are rough. Concierge very rude. Not nice place. Will be checking out tomorrow. No reason for beds so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District and right in the middle of all the places you want to be...Harrah's Casino, National World War II Museum, French Quarter and New Orleans streetcars and many more. The Ambassador Hotel is under new management and new ownership that are 100% dedicated to your complete satisfaction. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans has completed a complete refurbishment as of August 31 that includes 100% new Sealy Hotel Firm mattresses throughout the hotel along with over 10,000 new pillows, new blankets and bedding sets. Further, in order to protect this investment for the enjoyment of all guests, we purchased a waterproof, padded mattress cover for all mattresses. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for total guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel and were pretty excited that it looked quite nice for the $79 room price. We were on a roadtrip, initially from Texas but heading to new Orleans from Charlotte, NC. We called to make sure they still had our reservation and informed them that we would probably arrive late around 4 or so in the morning.
We got lost on the way to New Orleans so we arrived at 7 a.m. to realize I had to pay at least 15 dollars to park across the street and the machine does not give change. Walking into the hotel, it looked nice and very old world antique type style. But then we talked to the woman behind the reception desk and everything went wrong.
They gave someone else our room and told us there were no other rooms available. She said she could not book us a room at another hotel and basically said we were out of luck. She said that there was a note marked saying late arrival but didn't specify the time. She asked me why I didn't call back and inform them I was going to be there at 7 instead of 4. She also said after midnight the rooms are pretty much fair game if you don't call or check-in. I didn't think I had to re reserve the room we paid for and reseved over 24 hours beforehand. This made me think- We did not have the money for another hotel so we were pretty much either going to have to get a $40 room somewhere or sleep in the car after driving all night from North Carolina. Upon getting angry because we wasted our money and I was exhausted and just wanted the room WE BOOKED and PREPAID FOR to lay my head down she got snippy right back with me. I'm not sure what kind of customer service they require for their employees but it seemed far from adequate. I mean really, how can you not expect someone to be upset when you tell them that you basically double booked their room and they were out of luck basically.
I left to figure out what to do and asked my friend to go in and ask for a refund. He informed me that they told him someone just left and that the hotel was going to do a 30 min cleanup of the room and let us stay there till 2 p.m. This was much appreciated but the problem should've never happened in the first place. If a room is paid for it should be guaranteed available until your check out time.
They then charged us 10 bucks for wifi we didn't even use. The room was kind of clean. There was a piece of chewed chewing gum on one of the plastic wrapped cups. Also, no towels. Only the small towel that is used for the floor was in there with the used bar of soap in the soap dish. Used soap?!? The water was not very hot. It was decently hot once you fished for it but it was still not great. All of this makes me wonder if the sheets were used or not.

My overall opinion is to not stay here and if you are to stay here... No just don't. It is not fun to drive for hours and be told you've been cheated out of a room you paid for. The hotel is simply cheap. Hidden fees and double booked rooms along with used soap etc. I will not return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is right across from the casino and super close to the French Quarter and trolleys. The building is cool and bar down stairs wasn't bad. However it didnt impress me enough to come back. The ceiling fan was broke along with the ice maker on our floor. And although the elevator was quick it smelled horribly musty. The staff never spoke to us coming or going during our stay and the floor boards in the rooms are connected so we heard every step our neighbors took. It sounded like someone was in our room if the neighbors were up late or super early. The last thing that bothered me is discovering that the cleaning staff tried to pass off a dirty towel from the day before as a fresh new one, made me wonder if they really changed the sheets or just made the bed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note! We are currently undergoing a remodel! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.