We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, noisy though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool place, noisy though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'm not really sure how to rate this hotel. I rarely stay at historic hotels, so people who do are probably looking for different things. No pool, limited amenities. But cool architecture, with exposed brick in the lobby and even the back wall of the hotel room. On the negative side, our room had just one very small window that looked out into a small square shaft. Those really cool, retro, wide plank wood floors look awesome, until you realize they run right under the wall into the next room and carry vibrations and thus noise, with them. If someone in the next room drops a quarter, you'll stoop to look for it. In the middle of the night, my wife literally thought someone was in our room! That first night, the people next door came in at about 3 a.m. with a group of four or five. They reallly were not being obnoxiously loud, just moving about and talking at normal levels, but man, it was loud in our room. The second night, no such problem and a much more restful night. Two beds in our room, one mattress really soft and if we both lay down in it, we ended up in a ball in the center of the bed. The other mattress, somewhat more firm, but still on the soft side.
So, cool hotel, historic, beautiful, located right at the edge of the French Quarter, actually in the warehouse district, so convenient to both, close to everything. But lacking in amenities, soft beds and noisy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to the Big Easy! The Ambassador Hotel is an 1854 coffee warehouse conversion that has many of the original features of its intended use, such as original hardwood floors, exposed brick-and-beam construction, high ceilings and ceiling fans, large windows and smaller windows on interior walls, etc. The Ambassador Hotel is located right in the heart of the city....across from Harrah's Casino, steps from the French Quarter, New Orleans Streetcar stops, Mercedes Benz Superdome, New Orleans Arena, everywhere you want to be. The Ambassador Hotel is undergoing a renovation which includes all new mattress sets, 32" flat screen televisions, all new bedding sets (pillows, comforters, bolsters), everything today's traveler is looking for. Please call Richie Aquilar to make your return reservations at 504-599-2112.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    90
    71
    65
See reviews for
51
125
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If your looking for state of the art amenities don't look here. This hotel has a very nice old world charm and the hotel staff was wonderful. My fiance came here from ATL for a date night and the room was fine. It is located 1 block away from Canal Street and is within walking distance to everything. I would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
The Ambassador Hotel family thanks you for choosing us during your recent visit to the Crescent City. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is a French Quarter Hotel located in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District. The Ambassador Hotel is proud of its reuse of this antebellum building, a surrounding where time seems to stand still and the time is taken to relax and escape the fast pace of this modern world. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is located in the heart of where you want to be...Harrah's Casino, French Quarter, Mercedes Benz Superdome, New Orleans Arena, world famous New Orleans streetcar stops...all within easy distance. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and cozy. Very close to the action. I could walk to burbon, the W and many of the other "hot" night spots. The desk manager was VERY helpful and professional. Thank you so Much Patrick!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
The Ambassador Hotel family thanks you for staying at The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans during your recent visit to the Crescent City. The Ambassador Hotel family works very hard to provide friendly, familiar Southern-style service for all of our guests. The front desk staff, led by Patrick Wilson, are happy to welcome you to the neighborhood...Harrah's Casino, French Quarter, Mercedes Benz Superdome, New Orleans Arena, National World War II Museum...all steps away. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

When asked for Housekeeping or towels, blankets, toiletries, or wat have u....no1 was availible until hours after we requested....when called the front desk, they would say " oh we're short staffed tonight"....O_o like really!?!?, 2 days in a row?....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to the Big Easy. The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter Hotel located in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District. The Ambassador Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment that includes new 32" flat screens in all rooms, new bedding including pillows, BLANKETS, comforters, bedskirts, bolster pillows and linens. The Ambassador Hotel family strives to serve all of her guests to provide great service and old fashioned Southern Hospitality and comfort. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are completely dedicated to your satisfaction. Please contact Richie Aquilar for 100% satisfaction at 504-599-2112.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old world feeling and quaint, but the rooms are all different in size and your not sure what your getting. There are a lot of hidden fees, watch out! The front desk girl was a little to snippy for my taste!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans family would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is comprised of 3 former coffee warehouses built in 1854. The conversion to a New Orleans Historic Hotel was approved by the National Park Service and features original elements including different floor plans throughout the hotel, original hardwood floors, exposed brick and beam construction, high ceilings and ceiling fans. The Ambassador Hotel charges a value-added package that includes umlimited local and long distance calling, unlimited wireless access throughout the hotel, 24 hour use of the fitness and business center, and a lite continental breakfast. Our Front Office Manager, Patrick Wilson, continually trains and mentors all front office family members in order to provide a Southern Hospitality experience for all of our guests. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for complete guest satisfaction and to make you return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and price! Check in experience was horrible. Not sure if it was b/c the girl was overwhelmed but they were COMPLETELY unorganized! We got there at 4pm and didn't get checked in w/ our keys until about 5:30pm!! As for the rooms.. it seriously has paper THIN walls you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbors say and do.. I lived in many apts so I know that walls can be thin but it was like there was no walls at all! and the door to the room is a door glass window and blinds not much privacy at all. I woke up in themiddle of the night due to people being loud and obnoxious in the halls and room next door. and FYI they will automatically charge you $9.95 for wireless amenities no matter if you use it or not.. Overall I probably would not stay at this hotel again. Like the location but not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassador Hotel family strives every day to welcome and please our special visitors such as this reviewer. The Ambassador Hotel is a warehouse conversion property built in 1854. The hotel retains its original character that include hardwood floors, glass paned doors, exposed brick-and-beam construction and other antique features that you would expect in a building of this age. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are completely dedicated to your comfort. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel was better than I expected after reading previous reviews. My room was ready when I got there and the staff, especially Patrick, was very nice and helpful. No complaints about the room, since I was only in it to shower. The location of the hotel is within walking distance to everything. For the price, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to the Big Easy. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is a historic French Quarter hotel in the heart of the Warehouse Arts District. The Ambassador Hotel family takes pride in presenting exceptional service and great value. The Ambassador Hotel is located right in the heart of where you want to be..steps from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and Riverwalk Mall, Mercedes Benz Superdome, world famous New Orleans Streetcar stops...you name it! The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are totally dedicated to the complete guest experience. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note! We are currently undergoing a remodel! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.