We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know what is most important about visiting New Orleans, this spot is great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you know what is most important about visiting New Orleans, this spot is great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. Really amazing staff, especially Chelsea at the front desk as well as her supervisor. Easy location and very affordable. The larger and brighter rooms are located in the 'Lafeyette Wing'. We switched rooms 2 nights in because we were not thrilled about the bed in the first and the staff was awesome about it. Our second room was wonderful. New Orleans is a town to be out and about in so time spent in a hotel room should not be such big concern but if you are looking for a clean, affordable, and friendly location without feeling low budget, the Ambassador is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassasdor Hotel family is pleased to be of service to all of our guests and are gratified that everyone was so accomodating. The Ambassador Hotel is located in the heart of the city....Harrah's Casino, Mercedes Benz Superdome, world famous French Quarter...all just steps away. Please call Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    149
    107
    77
    69
See reviews for
66
143
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

First Lets start with the Pros:
1. Good location
2. Considerate House keeping staff.
3. Front desk staff were professional

.... and that is about it.

Cons:
1. Rooms with no windows
2. Front desk Staff said that they would help us move ones people checked out. Then later said nothing was available. After which I saw new guests arriving and being escorted to their empty rooms. So they were professional and not honest.
3. Wallpaper peeling
4. Stained chairs and dinghy tables. (Not fit for long term working)
5. Creaky floors.
6. For a boutique hotel.... Just nails on the wall with missing artwork.
7. The building showing signs of aging.

Pay a little extra and go to a W or Hilton down the street where you know you get what you pay for. But will not matter if you are out all the time and just need a place to sleep. Its very misleading from what is on the website.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get rooms with windows. INSIST ON WINDOWS if you decide to stay in the room dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. Thank you also for mentioning the professional and considerate family members working throughout the hotel. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are 100% dedicated to guest satisfaction. The Ambassaor Hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment of the circa 1854 building which includes new 32" flat screen televisons, new mattress sets and the new bedding to go along with them, refinishing and recovering of room furnishings, etc. We would like to point out that the reviewer says there is no window, but provides a picture of the room with window. Also, regarding missing artwork, in the picture of the bed, the corner of the artwork hanging over the bed can be seen. There happen to be century-old nails and other hardware that have been left in the brick walls and clearly not intended to hold artwork as they are high up in the walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have stayed in a few other renovated 'historic hotels.' The reviews are the same. The experience is similar. They are smaller rooms. Higher priced. Fewer ammenities. People tend to be disappointed because they expect a lot more not realizing that they pay for the ambiance.

My stay was decent. I did not find anyone rude. I thought everyone was helpful. The rooms were clean. Everything in working order. The location was ok, not on the main drag, but not far away. The AC worked great. I thought it was very quiet. You get the 'old building converted into a nice hotel' effect. Again, the front staff were great. The Valet (Jake) was really nice and helpful. Everyone was quick to serve. We got extra towels quickly. No complaints.

Suggested improvements--advertise the complete cost. Valet Parking advertised $29.99 but was really $40 (after tax) and similar to other hotels. The resort fee is advertised, but include it in the room cost. What is the difference between $200 and $210? After taxes, the total cost per night was $250 (all taxes, parking, and fees). When you add, it up, it is not out of line with other, more modern hotels and slightly cheaper than other New Orleans Hotels.

"Light Breakfast"--not an exaggeration. It was ok, but don't think you will make up costs because breakfast will wow you. The cinnamon pasty was really good. The rest was typical pre-packed items. The Coffee was really good.

It seemed slightly understaffed especially during peak times. I am sure this hotel is operating as best as they can, but I think a bit more peak-time staff will help people swallow the relatively high costs.

Just remember, you are in the Big Easy. YOu need a place to crash, but you are not there to be in a resort hotel. The attractions are outside the hotel and you will spend little time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel New Orleasn and for your defense of all historic properties in general. The Ambassador Hotel is a warehouse conversion dating 1854. It features original hard wood floors, exposed brick and beam construction, 12 foot ceilings with ceiling fans, etc. all providing an original "New Orleans" feel. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are wholly dedicated to a complete guest experience. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for an annual conference at the convention center. It is a good walking distance to the convention center (10minutes), but the rooms are old. We were given a room with no windows, and the floors were very uneven. Being in the room was claustrophobic and having uneven floors without windows makes you feel very dizzy. I would be concerned to book here again especially if I was given this room again. Would not recommend to others.
Pros: friendly front desk
Cons: old worn down room, no windows, uneven floors

Room Tip: Ask for windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent business trip to New Orleans and thank you for mentioning our friendly front desk staff. A hotel is just that..a hotel, but with The Ambassador Hotel family eager to serve, the hotel becomes a home. The Ambassador Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans...the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, Ernest Morial Convention Center, the perfect location for your needs. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is comprised of three historic coffee warehouses dated 1854 and retains elements of its intended use, original hardwood floors, exposed brick and beam construction, high ceilings with ceiling fans, original mullioned windows, etc. The Ambassador Hotel has begun a capital improvements program which includes new 32 inch flat screen televisions, new mattress sets, new soft goods including blankets, pillows and coverings, antique reproduction furniture refurbishment, all scheduled to be completed by May 2012. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management who are 100% dedicated to your complete satisfaction.Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for an immediate response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goode
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our recent stay at the ambassador was occasioned by attendence at the FRENCH QUARTER FESTVAL. Two items stand out as positives for this hotel , location and the generous size of the room we had.the positives however could not offset the negatives that consisted of !.poor housekeeping with a dirty bathroom 2.. a broken coffee maker that never was fixed or replaced during our four night stay even when brought to the attention of the front desk.3. the fact that on the second day the maid advised us that she couldnt clean our room as she was overwhelmed with work.the final insult a 9.95 daily feee for manditory phone,safe internet services

Room Tip: rooms on the street side are noisy due to constant traffic plan on b/fast elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your trip to French Quarter Festival 2012. The Ambassador Hotel and the city of New Orleans are experiencing record numbers of visitors who want to be in the middle of the action and The Ambassador Hotel is just the place-located steps from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, Riverwalk Mall, Mercedes Benz Superdome, Warehouse Arts District galleries and museums, the list goes on. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that are wholly dedicated to your complete satisfaction. One of our managers is an Executive Housekeeper with over 20 years experience, dedicated to providing the total guest experience and has implemented policies and procedures for exceptional service. The Ambassador Hotel has a value added package that provides unlimited local and long distance calls, unlimited wireless access throughout the hotel, 24 hours fitness center and business center which is advertised through all of our booking channels. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerwald
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent a week in New Orleans for the Final Four this year.
The Ambassador is a nice simple hotel with clean comfortabel rooms and a nice staff.
It's close to the French Quarter and we were even able to walk to the Superdome for the games.
There are many nice restaurants and bas nearby and there is even a really goos sports bar located inside the hotel. I would book this place anytime again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
The Ambassador Hotel family appreciates your visit during NCAA Final Four weekend. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans and the city of New Orleans are experiencing an unprecedented number of visitors for such events as Ncaa Final Four, New Orleans Hornets basketball, upcoming Essence Music Festival and New Orleans Jazz Fest, Wednesdays in the Park at Lafayette Square, the list goes on. The Ambassador Hotel has the perfect location for visitors...steps from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, Riverwalk Mall, Woldenberg Park, Warehouse Arts District, National World War 2 Museum, the list is endless. The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is under new ownership and new management absolutely committed to complete guest satisfaction. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 to make your return booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I went for this hotel based on the positive reviews on here but also the Manager's immediate, helpful response to any negative one's - I figured they must be keen on providing good customer service. I emailed the Manager before our visit asking if it was possible to have a nice room as it was our wedding anniversary, I even send a scanned copy of our marriage certificate to prove it as I know everyone says it. I got no reply. So I went on the hotels facebook page and asked for his direct email address and again no response - pretty rude I thought.
Upon checking in hotel had a lovely lobby all uneven floor and exposed brickwork so we were quite hopeful. The downsides on check in were the extremely loud bar next door so you couldn't hear the receptionist and the ridiculous $10 fee whether you want to use the facilities on offer or not.
The room we were allocated was beautiful and large but sounded like it had a jet engine above it. We turned the aircon off thinking it was that but it was still there. No way was that room rent able as it had the air handling unit above it. The noise was terrible and with 2 children there was no way I was staying in that room. 3 times we phoned reception for them to send someone up to listen and no-one came. Eventually I went down and they send the doorman up with me and the maintenance man who agreed it was noisy but there was nothing they could do. We were then moved to another room, not as nice and much smaller but we just wanted to sleep. We got the kids in bed and then the noise started. I couldn't believe it, this horrendous intermittent noise and then we realised our room back onto the very old elevators. All night long it was all you could hear, even with ear plugs. I would have asked to move again but the children were exhausted by this time. I think these 2 rooms must be last resort rooms for people as the hotel was full due to the Final Four. Very disappointed in the Manager and the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador535, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit to New Orleans. The Ambassador Hotel and the city of New Orleans are experiencing a record number of events and the visitors that these events bring, NCAA Final Four, French Quarter Festival, upcoming New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, Wednesdays in the park at Lafayette Square, etc. We welcome requests from our guests who are in New Orleans in order to celebrate their own personal events and endeavor to fulfill any needs that are expressed. The management regrets that this reviewer was not able to contact management via social media; however, the General Manager posts his DIRECT telephone number on each review response. THis number is provided to insure that each guest can speak directly to the General Manager at any time regarding any subject. This reviewer was assigned a beautiful room with a view of Tchoupitoulas Street, Piazza d'Italia and the Mississippi River bridge. Due to construction noise by actions of the city of New Orleans and beyond th hotel's control, the guest asked to change rooms and experienced noises inherent to a building dated 1854. The Ambassador Hotel is under new ownership and new management that strives for 100% guest satisfaction. Please contact Richie Aquilar at 504-599-2112 for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note! We are currently undergoing a remodel! The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.