We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baronne Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Baronne Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Baronne Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   346 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
2 reviews
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a queen bed but the room had two small full beds. My boyfriend is tall and when he laid down his feet hung off the end. I called downstairs to let them know we needed a queen and the lady said she would look into it and call me back. I waited 20 minutes and never heard back so went downstairs. The lady I talked to on the phone wasn't there so I talked to another lady about the situation. She checked the computer and said there were no more queen rooms available and nothing they could do. When I asked about giving us a discount for the inconvenience she replied that the room with two fulls is actually more than the room with one queen so we were getting a deal. When I made a point that the discount should come from the fact that they messed up our reservation and not from the room price she said they booked the room how it came over through the booking site and blamed it on them. She seemed more concerned with coming up with excuses than making us happy. I called the booking site and confirmed the reservation was sent over correctly and the error was on the hotel's side. After looking into a few different choices the booking site moved us to another hotel that was a lot better. I would not recommend Baronne Inn and Suites as the staff is very rude and doesn't seem to care.

Room Tip: A lot of street construction going on in front. Our view was of the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived after a late flight at a hotel up the road, who had lost our long standing booking (11 months in advance) for 4 couples.
Went to the Comfort Inn and George went out of his way to help, sorting out 4 rooms for us, which he changed after a couple of nights to suites, on a Saturday night during Jazz Fest and at a reasonable rate.
Hotel was clean comfortable and only 1 block from Bourbon St, all staff were helpful and kind to us.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette,la
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok i guess hotel lobby bathroom was very nasty needs a remodel bad trash all over the floor in the lobby bathroom hotel price not worth that thus is a half star at best but hotel front desk staff made my weekend they where so friendly and lady in the bar was very nice also

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here during jazzfest weekend. 130+tax and the place really ought to be condemned. It looked clean and the service desk was good but the rooms are just horrid. The bathroom blinds had been so warped by the sun that they bowed out 10" from the window in some parts and looked like spaghetti in other places. The toilet was backed up and the carpets were alive. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Location was good though. I stayed on the water at the Hilton the weekend before for the same price but it wasn't jazzfest weekend either:(

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If I could give them a zero I would! They are awful people and have no class at all!! After getting an email awhile back about them not being a choice hotel anymore I called and they confirmed that everything was ok and that my reservation was still good. I get another phone call WEEKS later that They cancelled my reservation right before the convention "because they are no longer part of choice hotels and cannot honor my rate" when explaining to them that they are leaving me in a bind with this and if they could do anything to help me out they said no that they wouldn't. Awful customer service. Take your money elsewhere!!!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel staff very nice. Facility clean, comfortable, not especially luxurious but convenient and adequate for the one night we were there for a wedding in the area. However, beware the parking experience. We were given a choice of valet parking or self parking and chose self parking. We were directed to a parking garage about a block away - I think it was the Hilton Garden Inn garage on Gravier Street. Since we were only staying one night, we had to pay in cash. We were told to go to level 6 or above - no parking below level 6. We started up a circular drive with extremely narrow, steep ramps between levels. The turns are so tight, we had to stop and back up several times, and barely made it. We have a Toyota PreRunner truck - not huge, but too big for that place! Also - in a couple of places, there was 2 way traffice, so someone would be coming down the one car ramp while you were trying to go up - it was like playing "chicken"! You sit there glaring at each other until somebody backs down. This garage is almost inaccessible for anything but a Smart car or a volkswagen, seriously. Also, the ceiling was so low, we had to get out and take the antenna off at one point. If you must park there, only drive a compact car - and it will still scare you to death. You would think the attendant might have told us we could have trouble. As I said - it was a nightmare and if I ever have to stay in that area, I will find my own parking.

Room Tip: This is more like a boutique hotel - it sits in the middle of a block in downtown - there are no rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a hotel for a 1 night stay pre-cruise. I didn't realize Jazz Fest was going on when I booked the cruise several months prior. This hotel was just about the only hotel left in the price range I was willing to pay, that was close to the cruise port so I took it. Upon arrival the girl working the front desk was rude, no smile nothing, she acted is if I was bothering her checking in. Me and my friend had just flown in from CA. Went up to the room and the room smelled really weird, room was very out dated, A/C was so loud it was annoying. Bathroom where toilet shower are the walls were poorly patched up and painted over, badly chipped tiling, shower head had no cover around it, just came out of the wall, carpet in room was gross. Didn't feel safe here at all. The room however was a good size and very spacious which was a plus, and the sink was nice, granite, it was the newest item in the room.

The 2 rooms next to us had approx. 15 kids living in each room. We said hi to the kids and they said they lived there. We could see into the rooms as their doors were opening and closing a lot, maybe foster children, not sure, looked like ages 6 to 15 there were adults there as well. They were all up very late and were very noisy.

I had booked the room for 2 double beds, but when we arrived it was 1 double bed, I went to the front desk and told the girl, and showed her my confirmation etc., she said oh well, we are sold out, that's what happens when you book through Expedia. I said I have used Expedia for many years and NEVER had a problem with them.

I asked the girl about taxi's in the morning, do I need to reserve, etc. She said you should have done that a few days ago. I said why, I have never had to reserve a taxi a few days in advance, I said I need a 11am taxi to take me to the cruise terminal, she took my room number down and that was it. The next morning taxi's were going up and down the street, there was no problem getting one, no need to reserve days in advance.

I will never stay at this hotel again, I read the reviews and they were mixed, but this hotel was much worse than I had ever expected, was so glad to get out of there. I didn't even feel comfortable leaving my room to go get a bite to eat for a short period of time. Pick another hotel and spend the extra few bucks to have a piece of mind. Unfortunately when I booked the entire area was sold out and only a few hotels that cost $400+ were available, that is the only reason I picked this hotel I was desperate at the time for a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baronne Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baronne Inn & Suites

Address: 346 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baronne Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Baronne Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel New Orleans
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baronne Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.