We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   346 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Just back from six nights at the Comfort Inn and Suites on Baronne Street. I was a bit apprehensive at first, having read some of the negative reviews on this site. However, our stay was absolutely perfect. The desk staff and managers were very friendly and welcoming; our room was clean; the television worked beautifully (although that guy on channel 5 shook for the six nights we were there); the microwave and refrigerator were a godsend for our leftovers and late night snacks; the breakfasts were more than adequate; and the exercise room appears to have new equipment. Free internet service in the lobby, if you don't have a laptop.

The hotel is only 3 blocks from the edge of the French Quarter, and four blocks from the start of Bourbon Street. It is three blocks from the two main street car lines, and easy walking distance to anywhere in the French Quarter and CBD.

Granted, the building is old, and some of the carpeting is a bit run down, and the elevator sounds as though it's on its last legs. But the rooms (ours, at least) are cheerful and clean, and really, how much time are you going to spend in your room, anyway? This is New Orleans, after all! Great value, and we would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives. In fact, we have already done so.

  • Liked — Value, location, and courteous staff
  • Disliked — nothing; everything was great
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    52
    36
    32
See reviews for
50
69
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed 2 nights before my cruise and 1 night after my cruise. The hotel is older but clean ,good breakfest in the morning , free internet, staff helpful , I did not see any bugs , I will stay there again

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My family and I got here the evening of our reserved night of stay. The moment we arrived there the staff at the front desk didn't greet us in any shape or form he, on the other hand, gave us a room previously picked by him without any of our say on it. We decided that it didn't really matter and that we might as well just bring our stuff up to our room -- can't do that! "why" you may ask, well because there was only one cart and was basically taken and never returned by a bunch of college students. We had to bring all our stuff up with no cart to come into our "deluxe suite", or so our reservation said. As we headed in towards our room, the elevator was old, smelly, filled with stains and overall ready to break. We entered an smoking-room (we previuosly ordered a non-smoking room, so that didn't work out that well), which was overly-heated, filled with stains, had a broken light, no in-bath whirlpool (which was promised to us when we reserved our hotel on BookIt.com) and, yes, a television that was all green... hooray! We went in the bathroom later on and found a welcoming cockroach right on the sink inviting us in. Alright, the next morning we reported all our problems to the front desk and were told that they would "get right on it". Surprise, surprise we came back later that evening with another cockroach in the bathroom, the broken lamp and the green tv. Also, the location isn't all that great... the hotel is, yes, 5 blocks from the french quarter, but the real french quarter is more around 15 blocks away. All in all, our stay was very unpleasant, and we don't reccomend it.

  • Liked — ...
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

This hotel is nothing flash but seemed like value for money, however 2 weeks later we are still paying for this hotel. We woke in the middle of the night to bed bugs, with my husband covered in welts. We peeled back the sheets and discovered a colony of bed bugs, most fully grown which means they have been there for at least 3 weeks and feasting on many people. We caught several of them in a cup and requested a room change at 3am which was granted to us. Our mistake was giving the bed bugs over to the desk clerk who promptly threw them out, (we found this out in the morning as the 'manager' claimed to have no knowledge of the event even though the desk clerk said he would notify him). They did refund our night's stay but when I politely told them to have it professionally treated (as the bed bugs were obviously established) he said his staff would take care of it. Do not trust this hotel for a bed-bug-free stay, as I have read in this review page that other people have also had the same experience. I know that bed bugs are a problem with many hotels, but it is extremely costly to get rid of them and has cost us money, time and heart ache as 2 weeks later we still have problems relating from this stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We reserved this hotel for the entire weekend and after one night decided to leave and book another hotel. We were booked into room 218 and it was like walking into a heat box. The beds are so close to the wall air cond. it just blew directly on the side of the bed. We gave it a chance to cool down and nothing. So after having the maintenance man to come take a look at it he finally decided all he could do was change out the cover so it would blow more upwards. We left and were gone about 4 hours and came back back to the same heatbox.

We asked to please be moved to another room and were easily accomated to room 202. Ok to make a long story short this room was as bad as the first for coolness. The bed was away from the air cond. and it was still HOT. We had purchased food for the room refrig and after moving to this new room the new refrig DID'NT work. Surprise....! So my husband and brother walked back to the old room as we moved our luggage and also swapped the refrig. by themselves. Needless to say we checked out the next morning.

This hotel is old and needs to be remodeled badly. The elevators smell like old pee. The breakfast area has a sign on the door that was there when we arrived the first morning and was still up when we left. It simply stated " Breakfast will NOT be served this morning" So I wonder do they ever serve breakfast? I won't ever find out because I do not recommend this hotel and will not ever return.

  • Liked — ?????
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We needed just one night in New Orleans as we were passing through. The room was old and the hotel is run down, but it was clean and quiet, and we got a great price for this room. I phoned the Choice Hotels 800 number directly from my car to make the reservations. The parking is two blocks away in the Hilton parking lot. It costs $8.00 a day, which is very reasonable as most lots are $17. Walk to Canal street and take a trolly to wherever you want to go. This isn't the Ritz, but it was fine for what we needed.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Run Down
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Great stay for a great price. Nice, clean, comfortable. Super close to all the action. 3 blocks from canal street, walking distance to the French Quarters and Bourbon street without the price. On the strip with some reallyy expensive hotels, so this hotel is really a hidden jewel. We paid about 70 a night for a Friday-Sunday stay. One reviewer was correct, there is no parking, but since this hotel is in the business district, on the weekends there is lots of open spaces. No towing on weekends in the "no parking' areas so take your pick. Its in a "no frills area", but take a SHORT walk and you are right in the heart of everything. I'm glad I didn't read the reviews about bed bugs before I left for the trip, because I would not have stayed. We had no problems with any such thing--and I am a STICKLER for clean hotels, I dont do dumps, period!!! So this hotel does not fit that category. Go and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 346 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel New Orleans
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.