We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying Crescent City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Play Package
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
MOBILE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoying Crescent City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at this property April 16-18, 2014 Stayed in room 511, I thought it was AOK! Neat property down a bit from French Qtr basically in the Warehouse District. Breakfast was is a mezzanine type room..plenty of eating area and space. Great spread of food. The breakfast had a nice variety of food. Special thanks to Alex at the front desk...she turned me on to an eatery named Banks and Broad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear about your recent stay with us. Our team loves the opportunity to recommend local spots to our guests. As these are often the best places to eat or hang out in the city, and we always want our visitors to experience the best of what our city has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    103
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
48
11
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The rooms are spacious and we found them to be very clean. We read about some of the problems with the breakfast, but we found the selection to be very good and had no problem with getting silverware or plates, etc. Perhaps it is a hit or miss thing, but our experience was very good. The location is pretty good for walking along the river and you can get to the French Quarter or Canal Street within about 15 minutes or less at a regular pace. The staff was friendly and helpful to us, although we did receive some incorrect advice regarding the cruise ship terminal. Try not to get a room on the convention center side, though, as you will hear the street noise. I think it's a very good hotel and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I apologize for the incorrect information given to you in regards to the cruise terminal. We just recently reviewed with our staff all information about the cruises. So that should not be an issue in the future. We agree that our location is great for pre and post cruise vacations, as we are right in between the French quarter and our city’s port. Again, I am so happy to hear about your stay with us, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean room with location across from Convention Center. WORST hotel breakfast ever! The room was clean and the staff was nice. good hotel rate but do not figure the "free" breakfast as included. Immediately go to somewhere else for a real New Orleans breakfast. Also the shower did not drain properly even after notifying the staff. do not rely on the hotel as a concierge since they know very little about tours or restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. Also if you do not book direct with Hyatt, you do no get points!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated, as they help us to continue to improve our service. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. We try our absolute best to make each guests’ experience with us a great one. I would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with the appropriate management to prevent these incidences in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

No issues with the hotel itself. Very clean, conveniently located, and got room at a great price. Staff was a little moody however. One female manager in particular seemed as if every question asked was a nuisance and we didn't ask many. We aren't "complainers" nor are we "nitpicky." Also didn't appreciate being approached by the dope fiend panhandler who was accompanied by his thug friend who followed us into the hotel after we declined his request for funds. I would have expected one of the unoccupied staff members to politely ask the gentlemen (dope fiend) to leave, but they didn't and the two guys disappeared down a hotel hallway off the lobby. It didn't sour our vacation in any way, but we were together as a couple and my husband is a larger gentleman. A single female traveler may not have felt the same. However, I should note that this was an isolated incident and the only time we were approached by panhandlers during our stay. The hotel is located in what I would call a "safe" area. All in all we would stay here again and it was a great value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. Don't expect the type of over the top service commonly received at hotels such as Hilton, Marriot, etc. You get what you pay for.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated as they help us to continually improve as a hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Our guests’ comfort and safety are our top priorities, and I want to assure you that this is not a norm for our hotel. Our goal is not only to meet the needs of each and every guest but to exceed your expectations.

I will certainly be sharing your comments with the appropriate management to make sure this does not happen again. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back again to show you that we exemplify the Hyatt standards.

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here the night before our cruise left. The location is great for the port. It is also conveniently located a short distance from the French Quarter. We took the street car there and walked back. The room was nice and clean with two queens and a couch. The beds were very comfortable. The noise from the breakfast area carried into our room and if we weren't already awake was loud enough to wake someone up. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. We went down at 9am and found very little food available and not all of us were able to find clean dishes to put food on. I had to eat my oatmeal with a fork because after waiting for 10 minutes for a spoon it was apparent that the staff was not in a hurry to get clean ones out for their guests even after asking for one. I saw many other guests dealing with the same issues that we were dealing with too. Maybe they were short staffed that morning but the staff that was there certainly weren't concerned about rushing to keep up with the demand. The front desk staff however were very helpful during check in and out and answered all of our questions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with our breakfast. I want to assure you that this is not a typical occurrence, and I will certainly be sharing your comments with the appropriate management to hopefully prevent this from happening again. Our guests’ enjoyment is our team’s number one priority, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to show our improvements. We hope that you had a wonderful time on the cruise and want to thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place New Orleans. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 4 night at this hotel. It is located 20 minute lazy walk from French Quarter.
The hotel, it is true to the Hyatt Place standard and the rooms are nice spacious and spotless. And the pillows are perfect!!
The hotel offers a free breakfast witch is a plus. There is a plenty of food to choose from. The staff is GREAT! The neighborhood is safe..
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very proud to be a part of the Hyatt Place brand family and could not be happier to hear that you are familiar with it, and enjoy staying here. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights ,the location is great if you are going on a cruise and after May 2014 just a stone throw away from Riverwalk outlet mall, 10 min walk to Harrah casino and 20 min lazy stroll from FQ. great breakfast and service, no free parking though but the parking is right beside it, $32/valet but if you park on your own it is $20 for anything between 8-24 hours, they offer a $12/night for cruise ships.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 703 and it was quiet and I could see the bridge over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel! We definitely agree that our location is perfect for visitors coming in town before and after their cruise. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.