We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Play Package
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Bend OR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel was clean and functional, with a great location across the street from the Convention Center. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It could use some "fixing up", but it was nice to find lots of outlets in the room. I liked the "grab and go" breakfast sandwiches at the complimentary breakfast each morning. We also liked the convenience of the trolley stop, as that was our main mode of transportation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this past week. We take pride in having a fun and friendly staff and are definitely excited to hear that you agree! We will definitely pass along your wonderful comments to the rest of our team, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    103
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
48
11
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here the other day for a convention. It was well priced during the time I was there. Friendly staff and no problems at all. The lobby is huge, free wifi and the speed was fast, and free light breakfast. The room was spacious and clean. It is right across the street from the convention center, so it was an easy walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for staying with us this past week! We are so appreciative and really do love to hear feedback from our guests. We agree that we have a prime location for convention attendees, and the convenience of the complimentary high-speed wifi & breakfast is definitely a plus, especially when traveling on business. We will certainly be sharing your wonderful comments with our staff and will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greene ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hotel is is an easy location to both the warehouse district, convention center, and French Quarter. I felt safe to walk to and from the hotel in the early evening. The room was clean, in excellent shape and spacious. The King size room had a very nice sofa area/sitting area as well.

There are some nice perks to the hotel- 24 hour exercise room, nice lobby area with computer/internet access, & fresh apples. Also, if you need to borow items such as tech plug-ins or curling irons, they provide this at no charge for your stay. There is a breakfast buffet included in your stay each morning- (with yougurt, fruits, hot dishes such as french toast and bacon and egg biscuit sandwiches. Juices, Starbuck coffees and teas), and a 24 hour cafe to purchase food from to eat downstairs or to bring up to your room. The cafe has everything from candy bars & desserts to full meals (I loved the spinach salad & flatbread with artichoke and chicken).

Although we ran into some difficulties with the Valet parking timing more than once, I must say the minute I spoke with management about it, it was not only corrected for the rest of the week, but also several staff addressed me personally to ensure things were made right. (thankyou Jason and Keith!!) The staff was very friendly and personable throughout the week and took the time to get to know me. I observed other customers feeling taken care of as well. The customer service turned what would hae been a 4 star rating into a 5 star for me.

This is a great place to stay for an extended period of time, and not at all noisy as some of the other areas in downtown city locations can be. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: King size room had nice l shaped couch area for sitting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to ensure that each guest not only feels comfortable and welcome at Hyatt Place, but also that they have fun and enjoy their trip. We agree with you when you say that customer service makes a difference, and to hear that this made such a difference for you at our hotel is such a delight. I will definitely be sharing your wonderful comments with the rest of our team. Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very small. I used the safe in the room to store my iPad and had a malfunction one of the four day stay at the hotel, it took an hour to get someone to open the safe and I missed a class that I needed to attend. Overall the hotel was good and the location to the convention site was excellent. Would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated! I am sorry to hear that you had to miss a meeting over your convention, but am very happy to hear that your overall experience with us was good. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. We definitely agree that our location is excellent for convention attendees, not only because we are just across the street, but also because there are so many great restaurants and attractions nearby. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This property is perfect for your pre or post cruise stay. Only minutes from the port by shuttle or walking. Plus you are only 5mins from the Julia Street station for the street car to take you into the FQ. All day pass is $3 or $1.25 ea way. From the minute we stepped through the door and checking in with Brooklyn I new this was going to be a great experience. Later on I had the privilege of speaking with Brandon (Ops Manager) and Robert (Valet) who help me with a misunderstanding with the parking garage next door. The email which Brandon sent out prior to our arrival create the expectation of caring, wanting to provide great customer experience as well as separating the Hyatt Place from the many options NOLA has to offer.

There are 3 computers in the lobby you can use with a printer in the event you forgot to print out your travel documents as well as free Wi-Fi. They hotel is located next to the Fulton Place parking garage which also helps. The hotel also provides a free breakfast (bkfst sandwiches, pancakes, fresh fruit and pastries as well as assorted juices and coffee) that will fill you up. Others either have just the basic stuff or you have to pay additional. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. There is also a Starbucks downstairs or you can use the single cup coffee maker in the room. Also there was a micro-frig if needed. The media panel gave you access to charge up all your technology if needed. Another added feature is a room safe that you do not have to pay extra for as many other properties add that fee into your bill even if you do not use it.

This property is Top Notch as we stayed in the Garden District, FQ and other Warehouse District properties pre-cruise and this is now our go to spot. The Welcome Email was a truly a "Touch of Hyatt". See you again before our next cruise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it! It is such a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely agree with you, when you say that our hotel is the perfect place to stay for a pre or post cruise. We try our absolute best to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us, and to hear that you agree with us puts a smile on all of our faces.

I will be passing along all of your wonderful comments to our entire staff, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel overall, front desk personel, rooms, breakfast and location.
We stayed there for a night last December, and we were happy to be there after a long drive from Florida.
We had a doube room which was one of the biggest Ive stayed at in Hyatt, great view and nicer beds ;)

Thanks for the great stay!!! Will definitely be back again!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We know how uncomfortable and draining long drives can be, and we are very happy that you were able to relax and enjoy our comfortable beds when you arrived! Our guests’ comfort is a top priority and it is always such a delight to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean hotel. Very friendly staff. Decent sized room. Only slight negatives are that the room had an extremely small bathroom and there is no restaurant on sight. This hotel is across the street from the convention center and very close to the cruise ship ports. There's also a parking garage next to the hotel where you can park your car cheaper than at the cruise terminal if sailing on a cruise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear feedback from our guests! Our team strives to make sure each guest has a fun and enjoyable time while staying at our hotel. We also want our guests to feel comfortable, and cleanliness is a very important part of that. We are so happy to hear your positive comments about our staff and rooms, and I will definitely be sharing your review with the rest of our team.

Our location to the port, makes for a great place to stay before and after a cruise trip because so many area attractions and restaurants are within walking distance. Again, we are very appreciative of your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.