We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night in a small hotel in the French Quarter and then move to the Hyatt. We were thrilled with the great king room, complementary hot breakfast and wonderful staff who went above and beyond. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    163
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
108
76
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I traveled to New Orleands with my husband to attend a friend's destination wedding in Oct 2013. The hotel is located accross the street from the convention center, about a 20-30 minute walk from the French Quarter ($7 cab ride) and a 10 minute walk from the Trolley. Our room was spacious, although they have a limited number of king sized bedrooms so we ended up with two queens (not an issue). Everything was clean, drawer and closet space was more than enough - we were happy with our accomodations.

Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the breakfast area (located on the 3rd floor). It became quite noisy the second breakfast service started and we could hear everything in our room, so that was a bit of an annoyance since we were on vacation and were hoping to sleep in a bit. Not a huge deal, just something to be aware of - ask for rooms on higher floors if you're concerned about this. I think this hotel is a bit overpriced, though the free breakfast and internet was nice. The service at the front desk was pretty good, sometimes we had grouchy front desk workers but the door guys were awesome! There is a mini mart and starbucks just two blocks down from the hotel which was saving grace. Everything in New Orleans is expensive so we stocked up on our own water, snacks, etc once we got there. Beware that they add on an occupancy tax in New Orleans of $20/day! Overall, it was a good stay and we left very happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Moved to this hotel in mid-week and glad we did. Great up-to-date facility, clean spacious room with plenty of both closet and drawer space, excellent included hot and cold breakfast choices and attentive as well as friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room (probably will cost extra, but worth it) to triple the size of your room as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You can walk to the French Quarter, but I recommend some good walking shoes. It took us about 20 minutes, but the sites and sounds of New Orleans kept us entertained.
Our room had a plumbing issue twice, but each time a maintenance person showed up within 10 minutes of our call. I think the hotel has gone through a major update lately, but they seem to have done a good job. It is modern and comfortable.
If you belong to AARP, there is a good discount available. I believe there is an AAA discount as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is very convenient for a conference at the convention center. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It's annoying that you have to use your card to activate the elevator and the worse is that the breakfast is suppose to go until 10 but they start removing tje food like 20 minutes before. I was taking some food and instead of them waiting for me to finish they were removing everything I had not already in my hands, I think that was absolutely rude.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a really nice hotel. Very modern looking lobby & friendly reception desk staff. Room was clean, all the linens on the bed were bright white so you know they were cleaned. I never heard anyone in the hallway or the elevator which I thought would be a problem because our room was right across from the elevators. There was a sectional & leather coffee table in the room along with a desk & refrigerator. Bathroom didn't have a tub, only a shower stall so my 20 month old had to take showers everyday instead of baths. Breakfast was good each morning, good selections of hot & cold items. They were constantly putting out food. The location was across the street from the convention center & walking distance to casino, aquarium, WWII museum & French Quarter. Mulate's restaurant is 2 blocks away if you want delicious food. For the Football Fans, Manning's Restaurant is 3 bloocks away. Visited September 15 - 20, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antlers, Oklahoma, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here the night before our carnival cruise on the elation. Great place...clean, nice, secure. Breakfast was wonderful! They served their skillet selection...egg, bacon, cheese on biscuit, pancakes, bagels, cereal, very nice selection. We had a king suite..huge and clean. Just 2 minutes from pier. We parked in the garage next door to the hotel instead of using valet parking. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.