We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Safe, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Play Package
Ranked #50 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Bastrop, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Safe, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was fairly priced for the location. It was near enough to the French Quarters to be enjoyable, but not so close as to be loud and busy. A doorman was always present, making you feel even safer when coming in late at night. To use the elevators to reach the rooms, you have to use your room key, thus preventing anyone from just wondering up. The breakfast area was quite large to accommodate everyone and they had a good selection for breakfast. It is a long 2 block walk to the nearest Streetcar stop. Taxies to and from the French Quarter are fairly priced (around $10 one way). We had taken the train to New Orleans, but parking for the hotel was pricey. The front desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel! *Please note that there are no microwaves in most rooms. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: The breakfast area is on the third floor, so avoid getting a room there as it is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
58
38
9
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service was very good. My wife doesn't care too much for breakfast sandwiches, but I think they do a good job for them. The rooms are clean and the beds sleep well. You can usually get this hotel for a fair price and it is only a few minutes drive from the Superdome,the Aquarium, and the French Quarter. If you want to walk it, it's near the riverwalk and convention center. If you are going on a cruise out of the Port of New Orleans, it is right across the street. That's what we were here for this time. We have stayed here a few times and will again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Always like a hotel with breakfast and they had excellent choices. Egg muffins especially were good, pancakes, and the usual fair.
Enjoyed the couch that was in our double room, and we had an excellent view to watch the cruise ship sail!
Tip to get around: walk over behind the convention center and take the Riverfront cable car to the French Market and Jackson Square. Make sure to shop for masks, beads, etc. in the French Market...much better prices than French Quarter itself!
No pool, and we found a hairbrush when we moved the sofa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't see another reason for choosing this hotel other than the price.

However, as a tourist, it was a lousy choice. I didn't realize that there wasn't a pool (my bad). The public transportation (Red Line Streetcar) ran infrequently and only to the French Quarter (again my bad).

On the upside, the continental breakfast, room comfort, cleanliness, service, and overall quality of the hotel were worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Convention Center Blvd. were noisier. We paid extra for a larger room and felt it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed her for four nights during the Essence Music Festival. The hotel is right across the street from the convention center.
THe staff was super nice and gracious. With 4 women we were in constant need of towels and wash cloths and our room was a mess. LOL but they were able to keep it together. Also, this weekend is crazy every year and they did a really good job. We had no complaints at all.

The free breakfast is a major plus. The choices are good and it saves lots of time and money.

We walked every where. If you are in fairly decent shape you can walk to the French Quarter, Canal Street shops, the Casino and even the Dome. We caught a cab to the Dome back walked back every night after the concerts.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just read the previous reviews and as a very frequent visitor to the Crescent City, I say the location is perfect for families. It may not be what the "party-goers" are looking for, but as far as family and kid-friendly activities you can't beat this spot. It's directly across the street from the Convention Center and short walk to Riverwalk, Aquarium, IMAX, Children's Museum, several great restaurants and Harrah's. We paid $140 per night base rate for a suite with 2 queens and a pull out. Included full breakfast. Only downside is parking. Valet is $33 per day or self park $25 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This years Essence was amazing. The hotel was great. The hotel was packed and always busy but the staff was so nice and accommodating. It is right across the street from the convention center which made it convenient for us during the day to see the venders and take part in the seminars. Breakfast was very good. And, there was food available 24 hours a day. Plus, they had these awesome chocolate chip cookies! !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.