We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Play Package
Ranked #49 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just read the previous reviews and as a very frequent visitor to the Crescent City, I say the location is perfect for families. It may not be what the "party-goers" are looking for, but as far as family and kid-friendly activities you can't beat this spot. It's directly across the street from the Convention Center and short walk to Riverwalk, Aquarium, IMAX, Children's Museum, several great restaurants and Harrah's. We paid $140 per night base rate for a suite with 2 queens and a pull out. Included full breakfast. Only downside is parking. Valet is $33 per day or self park $25 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    94
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
65
41
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This years Essence was amazing. The hotel was great. The hotel was packed and always busy but the staff was so nice and accommodating. It is right across the street from the convention center which made it convenient for us during the day to see the venders and take part in the seminars. Breakfast was very good. And, there was food available 24 hours a day. Plus, they had these awesome chocolate chip cookies! !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was what you would expect from a Hyatt Place. I liked that we were able to check in early without difficulty. The room was nice, but the tub was a bit dirty at check in. Free wifi was a plus. It's a little far from everything so unless you will be spending a lot of time at the convention center I would probably stay closer to the action. We stayed on the 8th floor so the noise some people mentioned in other reviews was not an issue. My room was across the hall from the ice machine and there was a bad smell in the hallway. Parking was difficult. The hotel was busy from the Essence Festival and even after waiting an extended amount of time the parking attendants never got our car. I think I will go back to the Westin next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Creek, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ok Hyatt Place in New Orleans. Too far to walk to the French Quarter but a very short taxi ride. Clean hotel but staff seemed overwhelmed by a small number of guests. Convention center is right across the street. Better breakfast area than most Hyatt Place locations. Overall, good price for an ok hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast is good with a small variety to choose from. The down fall is the parking. You can either pay for parking at the hotel or the parking garage beside the hotel. Either way your paying! If having a pool makes a huge difference then you may not want to stay at this Hyatt. No pool and no gym! There is a nice starbucks in the lobby though. The street car does not run to the hotel so there are short walks to and from the excitement. All in all it is a nice hotel in a good spot if your here for a convention.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked the hotel primarily for the location across from the convention center. When I arrived there after midnight after an exhausting flight (8 hour flight delay), I found that they overbooked the hotel. They offered to put me up at the Marriott next door free of charge. When I arrived at the Marriott, Hyatt realized that they mixed me up with someone else. They refused to pay for my hotel at Marriott saying that I did not book with them, so I had to pay the $170 night. I did not want to pursue the matter since I was tired and it was taking another 1/2 hour for Hyatt to try and find a reason not to give me the free night.
The next day Hyatt realized it was their mistake. Instead of offering to compensate for the their mistake I was given 2 cookies and an plate with cracker and cheese which I could not eat. I do not feel that this hotel treat their customers equally.
Even though the stay left me frustrated, in fairness, the hotel room was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is well located if you have a meeting in Convention area and also want to be closer to the French Quarter. It is just 15 min. walking distance from French Quarter. Large and very clean bedrooms and wi-fi is free of charge. Breakfast is simple but good enough. You might need to wait for coffee and tea when the breakfast hall is full which is frustrating...

The people at the reception very helpfull especially young leady who is expecting a baby...

There is no gym at the hotel that you need to be aware of when you book it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.