We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #49 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wells, ME
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After reading some previous reviews, I was a little nervous. We were pleasantly surprised with the room décor. Very up to date. Breakfast was great and it was constantly being replenished.
I would stay here again, although it's not as close to the French Quarter as we would have liked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    118
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
90
59
11
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay while in New Orleans. It's close enough to the French Quarter to walk over, but far enough away that you can relax when you get back to your room.

There is no pool, which is a big bummer for the kids, but on the upside it was probably the best hotel "free breakfast" that I've ever seen. Also, our room was very spacious, and had been recently renovated.

The front desk staff were not quite as polished and professional as I'm used to seeing, but they were all very pleasant. However, both times that I called to get my car from the valet, they failed to let the valet know and I had to wait. Fortunately, the valet lot is near, and the waits were short.

All in all, I found it to be a very good value, and will probably stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get away. Awesome hotel and staff and very convenient to French Quarter. Nice walk to the square and beyond. Room spacious and clean. Free breakfast an added plus. The valet, Robby was excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We are always glad to see our neighbors from the North Shore get away for a weekend visit in New Orleans.

We are proud to have Robby as a part of our team and will share your comments with him to make sure he is recognized appropriately.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, the staff were all really helpful and friendly. That being said, this place just didn't have the amenities one expects from a Hyatt. There was no pool, spa or sauna. There was no room service. The bistro was brightly lit, and did not encourage hanging out. The bistro itself provided boxed microwave food. I got the lava cake, which was reheated, and so dried out I didn't finish it. A glass of pinot noir and the cake was $13 - it should have been yummy. Internet was free, a positive. The breakfast, included, usually had some sort of egg/biscuit/muffin combinations along with the usual fare you would expect from a less expensive place. Fresh fruit salad was hit or miss - and I doubt it was really freshly prepared but from Sam's Club. No fresh bananas except the first day. The coffee set up was really inconvenient if you want to drink out of a real cup with real milk. The valet parking had issues, at least twice we had to ask twice for our car, which meant it took 20 minutes +/- to get it. The parking attendants were very nice and helpful once they showed up. The room shape was inconvenient for getting luggage in and out. There was only one sink, and no room for opened suitcases. The location was convenient for getting on and off the interstate, and right across from the convention center but there was no catwalk or tunnel, and other hotels were as close to the convention center, but also closer to Canal Street. LOL, just checked rates - we were attending a conference, and our rate was $250/night. If you book in June, their rate is $99/night. WTF?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was in New Orleans for the first time on business and brought my wife with me. This hotel was recommended to us by family that visits New Orleans several times a year. I can see why they stay here. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. We ate the complimentary breakfast both mornings we were there. It was decent with some unique choices that we enjoyed.

The hotel was within walking distance to quite a choice of restaurants and we got a great rate. Overall it was a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We are pleased that we were able to host your first visit to New Orleans. We were happy to see that you had an enjoyable visit and took the opportunity to experience our convenient location and enjoyed some of our local restaurants.

We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet, and convenient to the Convention Center. The advertised "free breakfast" leaves much to be desired, which is what lowers my rating. The nearby Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites are probably better overall for a comparable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our convenient and quiet location.

I was disappointed to see that our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience in this area. We have recently added additional staff to our breakfast area and hope you have the opportunity to come back and see how we have improved the service for our Atrium AM Skillet breakfast.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay in New Orleans. It was centrally located and we could walk everywhere we went, except for the Audubon Zoo. The city bus access is just a short walk from the hotel. Also, the price was great! I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New Orleans that wants to get a good night's sleep and enjoys walking. You can just go to the Riverwalk and walk down the sidewalk to all of the big attractions. Also, their continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.