We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Play Package
Ranked #49 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New Britain, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet, and convenient to the Convention Center. The advertised "free breakfast" leaves much to be desired, which is what lowers my rating. The nearby Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites are probably better overall for a comparable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our convenient and quiet location.

I was disappointed to see that our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience in this area. We have recently added additional staff to our breakfast area and hope you have the opportunity to come back and see how we have improved the service for our Atrium AM Skillet breakfast.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
58
38
9
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay in New Orleans. It was centrally located and we could walk everywhere we went, except for the Audubon Zoo. The city bus access is just a short walk from the hotel. Also, the price was great! I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New Orleans that wants to get a good night's sleep and enjoys walking. You can just go to the Riverwalk and walk down the sidewalk to all of the big attractions. Also, their continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Convention Center while exploring the Big Easy! Rooms are impeccably clean! Staff is welcoming and caring, helped us with directions, taxis, and tours! Loved their free breakfast! Very convenient guest-laundry facility on the property! Modern Fitness Room and a free newspaper every morning! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while exploring the Big Easy.It is great to see that you took the opportunity to enjoy our free breakfast as well as the Fitness Room.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hotel was great very quite, you can't hear any outside noise or hallway noise..They have block out blinds to keep the sunlight out if you get the chance to sleep in.. They have Continential breakfast that was also good.. You are right across the street from the where the Cruise Ship docks..Also that is where you can caught the RTA Streetcar (train)..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at midnight after the Marriott at the Convention Center had given away our room. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more welcoming!
Free breakfast every morning, clean rooms, great staff. I would definitely return if I return to New Orleans. Also, the convention center was directly across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to find that this is a really nice, clean hotel with spacious rooms and a good location right across from the convention centre. It's a bit of a hike to the French Quarter, but it's only a 6 dollar cab ride. Service was friendly. Good option to be a bit outside the Quarter.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Because of a convention occurring during our stay, we had to move to this hotel in the middle of our stay. The room was slightly smaller than the typical Hyatt Place rooms in which I've stayed in the past, but still comfortable with all the typical associated amenities. If you're attending an event at the convention center, this is definitely the place to stay. It is located immediately across from the convention center. It has the included breakfast buffet. This particular Hyatt Place had an exceptionally good selection of fresh fruit for breakfast during our stay. The front desk staff was welcoming, professional and helpful throughout our stay. You'll note a lower than possible rating on value because it was a last moment booking occurring during a 35,000 person convention, which drove up the price. I suspect that on other occasions-booked well in advance-you can get very good value.

Room Tip: Because it's immediately across from the convention center, I would suggest booking a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.