We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Michigan
1 review
“Spectacular Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

I was hesitant given the name brand, but this hotel was terrific and a great bargain. Location is minutes walk from Canal St and Bourbon St/French Qtr. An easy walk. Hotel I think has undergone extensive renovations recently - everything freshly painted. Rooms spacious, clean with New Orleans flair. Price was one-third of the Marriott a few blocks away for the same night. Terrific bargain.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    261
    98
    34
    39
See reviews for
187
222
40
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

First off, I confess that the service was poor enough that we didn't even stay in this hotel: when we tried to book a reservation online at the hotel website (cheaper than hotels.com) the security certificate was denied. We didn't want to compromise our credit card information so this option was out. We tried calling the hotel and the lowest rate quote we got was $25 more than the online quote and the staff was unwilling to work with us. This struck us as an ominous sign of things to come so we made arrangements to stay elsewhere. However, since this situation seemed ridiculous (don't these people WANT business??) it seemed a valid comment to post.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Not your typical La Quinta. High rise just feet from Canal St. and the French Quarter. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed here while my spouse was on convention at the Crown Astor. The La Quinta hotel is extremelly well located; within walking distance to Burbon Street, the river front and of course Canal Street and half the cost of the Crown Astor!

The rooms were spacious and breakfast had variety. Best of all it was reasonably priced at less than $80 per night! Service was fine but we didn't run into any real trouble to test them. I don't normally chose this brand of hotel but this one will make me consider the brand in the future for quality and value. There was supposed to be a bar/resturant in the lobby but during our stay it was never open, of course there are plenty of bars to choose from!! It's New Orleans!! :-)

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We toured the US in OCT/Nov 2006 and this was the best hotel we found. Very clean, great price, great staff, lovely rooms/beds. Great location. Just a great all -rounder! Cant recommend enough!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Bed bugs were found on 4th floor. Unknown if exterminator was called. Hotel staff was accommodating.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I read reviews about this place not respecting the quoted rate and offering poor service on the hotel breakfast, so I was hesitant to keep my reservation. But, I have got to say that my husband and I stayed for three nights and received outstanding service. The breakfast was good (and there was plenty of everything), the front desk was always staffed by helpful employees, and the location was fantastic. We had no problem with our room rate or anything else. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.