We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, staff, and price--okay facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #64 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, staff, and price--okay facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was attending a conference in New Orleans at the nearby Sheraton, but couldn't justify the prices at that hotel for my workplace. La Quinta offered a really well-priced budget solution with decent amenities (free wifi and breakfast) just a couple minutes away. The room we were in was fine. Not great or swanky, but absolutely functional. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and attentive. I was very impressed by them. I stayed on a couple extra days after the conference, and they handled all the payment issues (with part being to my company and part being paid by me) very smoothly. The location was great for exploring the French Quarter and what New Orleans had to offer. I'd probably stay here again if I get a chance to return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    225
    77
    28
    30
See reviews for
167
195
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel looks great on the lobby level, but the rooms are all patchwork repairs. Dabs of paint on the walls, doors to your room that dont close shut unless you pull them closed yourself. I walked down the hallway to the elevator and seen a number of rooms with their doors slightly open with the same problem. The staff there were neither here nor there with service. They werent bad but they werent good either. Except for the valet, who when we called down to say we will be down in 5 minutes said he would have the car waiting for us. When we got down there no car waiting he then told us it wouldnt be long someone is bring it around. 20 minutes later still waiting. Then was asked to go back into the hotel to see someone at the front desk only to find they have had the keys to my car all along and not the valet. So now that the valet finally had the keys, No urgency show 15 minutes later the car arrives. Just short of an hour since we rang down. The location was great, right in the middle of downtown. 5 minutes work to Bourbon St. 15 minute walk to the Dome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You know going in that LaQuinta is a budget hotel, and my room was clean, the location convenient and seemingly safe, and the hotel staff very pleasant. The room was kind of depressing, though: bad lighting, soft mattress, lousy water pressure, shampoo the only amenity, and a heating/cooling system that ran in noisy cycles of off or full-blast. But it was the noise outside my room that got to me, and after two sleepless nights I moved to a different hotel. In my room on the second floor, I got all the street noise--including construction and dumpster-removal, plus the sounds of a 24-hour city. The hotel itself was also noisy, because I was next to the service elevator and on a floor that was mostly devoted to housekeeping and the physical plant, with doors opening and closing all night. That also meant the floor itself was a mess. I didn't go to NO to stay in my room, but this hotel needs some work.

Room Tip: The higher floors may be less noisy. Avoid the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my first time staying in a LaQuinta and it is now on top of my list for pleasure/vacation hotel to use. I received a very warm welcome and wonderful room selection. The breakfast was wonderful and I will be returning to LaQuinta and particularly this New Orleans French Quarter location again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

OMG... I've been coming to New Orleans for the past 5 years and stayed at other hotels paying way more money. King rooms have a sofa. The hotel lobby was extremely clean and staff was friendly. I stayed in room 810 and the rooms are extremely large to be in New Orleans. OMG, the bathroom is nice and large. The beds are comfortable, don't forget the microwave and fridge. Couldn't believe this was a La Quinta Inn... Didn't eat breakfast but I did see the set up... Nothing fancy simple hotel breakfast, toast, muffins, bagels, boil eggs, cereal, jucie.. you get the picture..

Location is awesome, 2 blocks to Canal, 3 blocks to Harrah's. I will be back....

Room Tip: get a king size room if possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very well located at the periphery of the french quarter, walking distance of many very good restaurants and the river side. The property is very clean and the staff very nice, given us brochures of restaurants and things to do on our arrival. The room was clean, usual size (for 2 double beds), but the mattresses were very confortable. My bf has back problem so it is always on issue when we travel but he tolerated well these mattresses so this says a lot. The breakfast consisted of toasts, bagels, waffels, some fruits, and some muffins, which is enough but if u stay there for a long stay you will get bored by it. New Orleans is a fantastic city for history, architecture and food and staying at the La Quinta Inn allowed us to be confortable away from home to enjoy all there was to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just off the central downtown Canal Street, this hotel offers a great location and a highly professional service. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. "Mist" shower in bathroom somewhat troublesome (it covers the bathroom floor in water). Otherwise, room was relatively spacious.
Finally, this is nothing to do with the hotel, but... book a shuttle to/from the airport *more than 24 hours in advance* in order to avoid high-ish taxi fares.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.